Skip to main content

Squires Library Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
The Consortium of Pentecostal Archives (CPA) is a collaborative effort initiated by repositories of Pentecostal archival materials to make their materials accessible online. -- CPA
New
Deo Publishing, Religion and Theology Special E-Book Collection, 1999-2017 Deo Publishing, Religion and Theology Special E-Book Collection, 1999-2017 , is the electronic version of the book publication program of Deo Publishing in 2007-2010. -- Brill
Trial
This collection offers term access to thousands of e-books and perpetual access to at least 100 new humanities and social science books each year. This collection offers access to around 50 humanities and social science journals. -- Duke University Press
New
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world. --IMF
New
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge. -- Internet Archive
Trial
The mission of the Loeb Classical Library, founded by James Loeb in 1911, has always been to make Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. The digital Loeb Classical Library extends this mission into the twenty-first century. Harvard University Press is honored to renew James Loeb's vision of accessibility and presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease. -- Harvard University Press
Trial
The Society’s fundamental purpose, reflected in its founding Charters of the 1660s, is to recognise, promote, and support excellence in science and to encourage the development and use of science for the benefit of humanity. The Society has played a part in some of the most fundamental, significant, and life-changing discoveries in scientific history and Royal Society scientists continue to make outstanding contributions to science in many research areas. -- The Royal Society
Loading...

Frequently Asked Questjions

How do I access databases on the Squires Library homepage?

To access Squires Library databases, click “Databases” to see an A to Z listing of all the library’s databases.  When you click on a database title, you will see this page:

Lee students, faculty and staff – Choose the top login option and use the same login as you would use for Moodle or Portico.

Seminary students, faculty and staff- Choose the second login option and use the same login as you would for Populi.

How do I search for a journal article when I have the citation information?

  1. Go to the Squires Library homepage. 
  2. Click on “Catalog Search”. 
  3. Change “Keyword” to “Journal Title”. 
  4. Enter the journal title (not the article title). 
  5. Click “Search”. 
  6. Scroll the display to identify all the issues and formats for this journal in Squires Library.

How do I search additional databases if the full text is not available in the database I am using?

  1. From the Squires Library homepage, click on “E-Journal Titles “(in the center column).
  2. Enter the title of the journal you need.
  3. Click on one of the databases listed for the journal you need. (If you are off campus, at this point, enter the current database username and password.)
  4. Browse for the particular journal issues you need or search by article title.
  5. If, for some reason, you are not able to access a database listed on the “E-Journal Titles” page, use the directions above to access the databases.

Where are the print copies of journals located in the library?

Current Issues - Current print issues of magazines and journals are shelved alphabetically in the Periodicals/Microforms area. The most recent issue is face-out.  Lift up the shelf for back issues.

Bound Issues – Print journals that have been bound together in book form are shelved alphabetically on the Lower Level of Squires Library near Room 109.  Some bound periodicals are located in off-site storage.  Request the volumes in off-site storage at the Reference Desk.  Allow 24 hours for retrieval of these volumes.

What should I do if I have problems logging into databases?

If you are having problems accessing the databases, please check the following:

Did this screen appear?

If yes:

  • Make sure that the username and password you entered is the same as you would use to log into Portico or Moodle (or Populi if you are a Seminary student.)
  • If you cannot get the username and password, you have to work, notify Squires Library of the problem.

If no:

  • Did it send you directly to the database provider’s website and ask you for a username and password?  If so, notify Squires Library of the problem.
  • Did it give you a message indicating that it cannot access the page? 
    • If so, notify Squires Library of the problem.
    • If off campus, you will not be able to access Squires Library databases until the problem is resolved.

What should I do if I have problems retrieving a full text article?

  1. Does the database that you are using provide full text?
  • Not all databases provide full text.
  • Some databases provide citations for resources that may be found in Squires Library by search the Online Catalog, searching the E-journal Titles list, or requesting the item through Interlibrary Loan Services.
  1. Is the item you want available in full text from the database you are using?
  • Many Squires Library journal databases provide only a portion of their article in full text.  If full text is available, there should be a link to the full text article.
  • If full text in not available in the database you are using, search for your journal title (not the article title) in the Squires Library Online Catalog, the E-Journal Titles list, or request the item through Interlibrary Loan Services.
  1. Is you computer security software blocking you access to full text articles?
  • We recommend contacting the University IS&T Help Desk before adjusting your security software. (423-614-8027)
  • WARNING: Before you adjust your security software, make sure that you are not in a situation where your computer will be vulnerable, such as an Internet Café.  After you have accessed the article(s) you want, return your security software to its normal settings.

You can contact Squires Library by calling (423) 614-8551.

title
Loading...