Skip to main content

Topic Guide - Resources for Biblical Studies

This guide lists starting points for locating resources pertaining to Biblical studies.

About this guide

Word study resources are resources that assist with the examination of the origin, definition, occurrences, and uses of a particular word, especially as the word relates to the context of a passage of Scripture. The purpose of using word study resources is to determine, as precisely as possible, what the Biblical writer meant when using a particular word or phrase.

Concordances (OT and NT)

Concordances are indexes that indicate the locations in the text of the Bible where a word may be found.

Online Concordances

Nave's Topical Bible

Strong's Exhaustive Concordance
Use the "Search the Bible" pull-down menus to search either the King James Version or the New American Standard Bible.

Torrey's Topical Textbook

Treasury of Scripture Knowledge

Print Concordances
For tips on locating other Bible resources in the library, see Bible Online Catalog Search Tips.

Analytical Concordance of the Greek New Testament. Baker Book House, 1991.
 Ref. BS2302 .C535 1991

Concordancia Greco-Española del Nuevo Testamento. CLIE, 1976.
 Ref. BS2302 .P4

Nave's Topical Bible. Moody, 1974.
 Ref. BS440 .N32 1974, Crosswalk.com

NIV Exhaustive Concordance. Zondervan, 1990.
 Ref. BS425 .G62 1990

Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance. Baker Book House, 1982.
 Ref. BS425 .S8 1982

Young's Analytical Concordance to the Bible. T. Nelson Publishers, 1980.
 Ref. BS425 .Y7 1980

Lexicons and Language Dictionaries-Old Testament - Hebrew

Lexicons and language dictionaries are dictionaries of words of a particular language with their definitions.

Online O.T. Lexicons

Crosswalk.com's Old Testament Hebrew Lexicon:
The Old Testament Hebrew lexicon is Brown, Driver, Briggs, Gesenius Lexicon. It is keyed to the Theological Word Book of the Old Testament.

Search by Strong's number or Hebrew or English word

Search by Bible passage
Use the "Search the Bible" pull-down menus to search either "KJV with Strong's Numbers" or "NAS with Strong's Numbers."

Print O.T. Lexicons/Dictionaries

Comprehensive Etymological Dictionary of the Hebrew Language for Readers of English. Macmillan, 1987. 
Ref. PJ4833 .K54 1987

Diccionario Bíblico Hebreo-Español. Editorial Tratta, 1994.
 Ref. BS440 .A485 1994

Dictionary of Classical Hebrew. Sheffield Academic Press, 1993-1996.
 Ref. PJ4833 .D53 1993

An Expository Dictionary of Old Testament Words. Old Tappan, NJ: Revell, 1978.
 Ref. BS440 .V75

Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible. Abingdon, 1962, suppl. 1976.
 Ref. BS440 .I63

A Hebrew and English Lexicon. Clarendon Press, 1953.
 Ref. PJ4833 .G42 1953

Hebrew English Concordance to the Old Testament: with the New International Version. Zondervan, 1998.
 Ref. BS1121 .K65 1998

The New Strong's Complete Dictionary of Bible Words. Thomas Nelson Publishers, 1996.
 Ref. PJ4833 .S87 1996

Old Testament English-Hebrew Dictionary. World Library Press, 1995-1999.
 Ref. PJ4833 .O53 1995

Old Testament Word Studies. By William Wilson. Kregel Publications, 1978.
 Reference and Circulating - BS1125 .W54 1978

Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament. Eerdmans, 1993.
 Ref. BS440 .B5713

Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament. Hendrickson, 1997.
 Ref. BS440 .T4813 1997

Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament. Moody Press, 1980.
 Ref. BS440 .T49

O.T. "Word Studies"

Old Testament Word Studies. By William Wilson. Kregel Publications, 1978.
 Reference and Circulating - BS1125 .W54 1978

Lexicons and Language Dictionaries-New Testament - Greek

Lexicons and language dictionaries are dictionaries of words of a particular language with their definitions.

Online N.T. Lexicons/Dictionaries

Crosswalk.com's New Testament Greek Lexicon:
This online lexicon is based on Thayer's and Smith's Bible Dictionary plus others. It is keyed to Kittel's Theological Dictionary of the New Testament.

Search by Strong's number or Greek or English word

Search by Bible passage
Use the "Search the Bible" pull-down menus to search either "KJV with Strong's Numbers" or "NAS with Strong's Numbers."

Greek and Latin Text Tools and Lexica

GreekBible.com - Online Greek Bible

Zhubert.com
Assistance in the study of the Bible in the original languages.

Print N.T. Lexicons/Dictionaries

Check marks indicate resources that are frequently used for University and Seminary class assignments.

Analytical Lexicon of the Greek New Testament. Baker Books, 2000.
 Ref. PA881 .F75 2000

Dictionary of New Testament Greek Synonyms, with Indexes to Bauer's Greek-English Lexicon and Brown's Dictionary of New Testament Theology. Zondervan, 1979. 
Ref. PA877 .B4 1979

Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament. Eerdmans, 1990- .
 Ref. BS2312 .E913

Expanded Vine's Expository Dictionary of New Testament Words. Bethany House Publishers, 1984. 
Ref. PA881 .V5 1984

Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament: Based on Semantic Domains. United Bible Societies, 1989. 
Ref. PA881 .G68 1989

A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Earlier Christian Literature. Walter Bauer. (University of Chicago Press [1957] 
Ref. PA881 .B38

The New Strong's Complete Dictionary of Bible Words. Thomas Nelson Publishers, 1996.
 Ref. PJ4833 .S87 1996

Pocket Dictionary for the Study of New Testament Greek In The Basic IVP Reference Collection CD-ROM. Inter-Varsity Press, 2003.
CD-ROM - Circulation - Desk Media BS440 .B3

Theological Lexicon of the New Testament. Hendrickson, 1994. 
Ref. PA875 .S613 1994

  Theological Dictionary of the New Testament. Edited by Gerhard Kittel. Eerdmans, 1985.
 Ref. PA881 .T4713 1985

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae. Oxford University Press, 1990.
 Reference - Ref. PA3051 .B37 1990
Circulation Desk - Media PA3051 .B472 1992

N.T. "Word Studies"

The Book of New Testament Word Studies. By Eric Partridge. Barbour Books, 1987.
 Circulating - BS425 .P37 1987

Complete Word Study New Testament: King James Version.
Compiled and edited by Spiros Zodhiates. AMG Publishers, 1992.
 Ref. BS2085 1992 .C43

Word Studies in the New Testament. By Marvin Richardson Vincent. Associated Publishers and Authors, 1972.
 Ref. BS2385 .V5 1972

Word Studies on the Holy Spirit. By E. W. Bullinger. Kregel Publications, 1985.
 Dixon Pentecostal Research Center and Circulating - PA878.P5 B8 1985

The Word Study Concordance. By George V. Wigram and Ralph D. Winter. William Carey Library, 1978.
 Ref. BS2305 .W53

Wuest's Word Studies from the Greek New Testament for the English Reader. Scripture Truth Book Company, 1966.
 Reference and Circulating - BS2385 .W8 1966

Search the Library

Search the Library