Access databases off campus
To access the Libraries' databases off campus:
1. Go to the Library's homepage
2. Click "Databases."
3. A proxy server login screen will appear.
4. Enter this semester's database username and password in lowercase letters.
If you need assistance, consult a reference librarian during Library hours (423) 614-8562 or email@example.com.
Gale Database App
Spring 2014 Username/Password
Lee Students: The username/password documentation for Spring 2014 is located in Portico->University Services->Resources->Library
Problems Logging onto Databases
If you are having problems accessing the database, please check the following:
1. Did a "PROXY SERVER" screen prompt you for a username and password?
- Make sure that the username/password you entered is the current semester's password.
- Check to see if you entered the username/password in lowercase.
- If you cannot get the username/password you have to work, please notify the Library of the problem: (423) 614-8562 / firstname.lastname@example.org.
2. If no "PROXY SERVER" login screen appeared, did it send you directly to the DATABASE PROVIDER'S WEBSITE and ask you for a username and password?
Please notify the Library of the problem: (423) 614-8562 / email@example.com
3. If no "PROXY SERVER" login screen appeared, did it give you a message indicating that it cannot access the page?
First, please notify the Library of the problem: ( (423) 614-8562 / firstname.lastname@example.org
If on campus, you may be able to access the database from the Library's Proxy Server Outage Page.
If off campus, you will not be able to access the Library's databases until the problem is resolved.
Exception:e-Book Collection (if you have already set up your own free personal account)
Problems Retrieving Full Text Articles
1. Does the database that you are using provide full text?
Not all database provide full text.
Some databases provide citations for resources that may found in the Library by searching the Online Catalog, search the E-Journal Titles list, or requesting the item through Interlibrary Services.
2. Is the item you want available in full text from the database you are using?
Many of the Library's journal databases provide only a portion of their articles in full text. If full text is available, there should be a link to the full text article.
If full text is not available in the database you are using, search for your journal or book title (not the article title) in the Library's Online Catalog, the E-Journal Titles list, or request the item through Interlibrary Services.
3. Is your computer security software blocking your access to full text articles?
We recommend contacting the University Help Desk for their assistance before making adjustments to your security software (423) 614-8027.
WARNING: Before you make any adjustments to your security software, make sure that you are not in a situation where your computer will be vulnerable, such as an Internet café. After you have accessed the article(s) you want, return your security software to it's normal settings.