Find Resources
Welcome to William G. Squires Library! When you are new to a library, it can be difficult to figure out where all the resources you need are located. This brief guide will help you know where to look for particular types of resources. Please feel free to contact the library with any research questions you may have; we are here to help!
1. The library homepage can be accessed at http://www.leeuniversity.edu/library/.
2. Students can search through almost all of the library’s resources by searching through the EBSCO Discovery Service. This is a great place to start if you are new to the library and its resources.
3. Students will be prompted to enter in a username and password to access the databases. This information is the same username and password you use to login to Portico, Moodle, and your Lee email. Please contact the library should you have any trouble accessing the databases (library@leeuniversity.edu).
4. If you know the Title of the work or the Author’s name, choose Title or Author from the drop-down menu and enter in your info.
5. If you want to perform a search for a specific topic or subject, we suggest you perform an advanced search. Click on the “Advanced Search” link.
6. Your results will tell you certain things about the resources:
- Type of Resource
- Title of Resource
- Author and Citation Information
- Subject of Resource (note this will help you determine if the resource actually deals with your topic.
- If the resource is available through the library collection. Look for resources that have “PDF Full Text” access, “Linked Full Text” access, or a “Full-Text Finder” option.
- Lee students can request journal articles and books through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
8. Click on the title to view move info about the resource.
9. Or click on the full-text link to access the resource directly.
Try these databases to narrow down your search. Some of these are multidisciplinary and some are specific to the field of communications. Both types will be useful to you in your research.
-
Academic Search Ultimate
More than 9,000 active full-text journals and magazines in various disciplines. -
Business (Gale OneFile)
Coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Reports on the activities of companies and industries worldwide through business and trade publications, complemented by a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications. -- Gale Cengage -
Business Economics & Theory Collection
Provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields with an emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association's EconLit bibliography. -- Gale Cengage -
Business Insights: Essentials
User-friendly resource, combining authoritative information and statistical data with analytical tools to explore real world application. Much more than an aggregation of full-text articles, Gale Business Insights: Essentials is easy for students, researchers, and professionals to use in-depth information on U.S. businesses, industries and products. -- Gale Cengage -
Business Source Ultimate
Offers an unprecedented wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world. -- Ebsco -
Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. -
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields. -- Ebsco -
Communications and Mass Media Collection
Provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and more. -- Gale Cengage -
Country Watch
CountryWatch is an information provider for corporations, government agencies, universities, schools, libraries and individuals needing up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world. -- Country Watch -
Discovery Service
EBSCO Discovery Service brings together the most comprehensive collection of content—including superior indexing from top subject indexes, high-end full text and the entire library collection—all within an unparalleled full-featured, customizable discovery layer experience. -- Ebsco -
Elephind
With Elephind.com it is now possible for family historians, genealogists, and researchers to search historic digitized newspaper archives from around the globe. Elephind.com is much like Google, Bing, or other search engines but is focused on only historical, digitized newspapers. It enables you to search, for free, across many newspaper sites simultaneously, rather than having to visit each site separately. By clicking on the Elephind.com search result that interests you you'll go directly to the newspaper site which hosts that story.
-
Newsbank - America's Newspapers
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. -- NewsBank -
Regional Business News
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources. -- Ebsco -
Small Business Resource Center
Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include; sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites. -- Gale Cengage -
Statesman's Yearbook Online
Today, international affairs concern every one of us and the scope of The Statesman's Yearbook has become correspondingly broader, with expanded coverage of history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country, all thoroughly researched and verified by a dedicated editorial team. -- Palgrave MacMillan
Don't pay to access a journal article! Search our databases to access academic journals; this is a service provided to students through the library's database subscriptions. If the full text isn't available directly through one of our database providers, we can request the item through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service which allows us to borrow the item from a different library for you. Listed on this page are some of the many databases that are available to you for research
You may be able to find some useful titles from the Cleveland Bradley County Public Library; particularly works written by or about actors, actresses, directors, and/or writers of the television programs you are studying. Lee students may obtain a Cleveland Public Library card by using their Lee University ID. Please note that the public library is not currently open to patrons but you may contact them online for assistance and you are able to request books for checkout. They also have a large collection of electronic books available for check-out as well.
