Lee Online Students: Welcome Online Students!

Academic Resources

Although it is possible to find some resources by using an Internet search engine, Squires Library provides easy access to a large collection of Academic resources, the use of which will be smiled upon by your professors.  Squires Library provides several different ways to access these library resources and library personnel are available to assist with your research needs.  We encourage you as a distance student to take advantage of these valuable resources made available to you in order to make your academic endeavors a great success.  

Your research should begin on the library's homepage from which students can search through the different available resources.  Theses resources include access to the library’s large collection of books, e-books, as well as many databases that provide indexing and (in many cases) full text of scholarly articles. To access many of the resources available to you as a distance student enrolled in courses, you will be required to sign in using a specific "username" and "password."  This "username" and "password" is the same username and password you use to login to Moodle, Portico, and your Lee email.  If you have difficulty logging in, you can contact Squires Library in order to obtain the information.  If you need assistance getting started in your research, the library provides a series of instructional videos.

If you plan to be in the Cleveland area, it would be beneficial for you to arrange for a library orientation session while you are here. It is best to contact the library prior to your visit in order to arrange a meeting with a librarian.  During your visit, a librarian can be available for individual or group training concerning how to use the various resources provided by Squires Library.  

To use the Library's databases and e-book collections, you will be asked to enter a username and password.  This username and password is your personal username and password information, the same username and password that you enter to login to Moodle, Portico, and your Lee email. 

When you attempt to access the library's databases, you will see the screen below.  As a Lee student, choose the first box.  

You will then be taken to a login screen where you will enter in your own personal username and password.  This is the same info you use to access your LeeU email, Portico, and Moodle.  The screen for Lee students will look like this...

Please contact the Reference desk during library hours at (423) 614-8562 if you have any questions or email us anytime at library@leeuniversity.edu. 

Lee Online students are encouraged to contact the library in order to ask for help.  Squires Library is here to aid you in your academic endeavors and we are available to answer your questions, whether it be teaching you how to find research materials or to help guide you through a specific assignment. The number for the Reference Desk is 423-614-8562. You can contact the library during any of our regular operating hours or questions concerning the library can be emailed to library@leeuniversity.edu.

Acquiring Library Materials

Books: Lee Online students can request books in the library collection to be sent to them for research. The library will pay for the sending of books by USPS library mail, while the student assumes the cost of returning the materials. The check-out period is 28 days which includes the time required for shipping the items. If the books are needed for a longer period of time, the student can request one 14-day extension of the due date. The cost of any lost items or overdue items will be charged to the student and no additional materials may be borrowed until the charges have been paid. Check out is limited to no more than 10 books at a time.  We are unable to ship books to students who live outside the contiguous United States. 

Chapter Scans: Distance students can request scans of portions of books that we have in our physical book collection.  The request can only be for a small portion of the work, not the work in its entirety.  This institution reserves the right to refuse a copying order if, in its judgement, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law. Copyright Declaration: The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyright material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research". If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use", that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

Articles: Lee Online students can request to have specific journal articles emailed or faxed to them via our Interlibrary Loan Service. Interlibrary loan is a cooperative arrangement by which one library borrows materials from another for the use of its patrons. Squires Library will locate articles in other libraries and obtain them for Lee Online students. These articles will be sent electronically through email.

Alternately, Lee Online students might be able to borrow materials through their local public or college library. The rules and fees vary from one library to another so Lee Online students are encouraged to ask about this service at a library convenient to where they live.

The Lee University Writing Center exists to help students improve as writers. Trained writing tutors accomplish this goal through collaboration and conversation, not through editing or “correcting” students’ papers for them.  Please be aware that as an online student, you must make certain to sign up for an online appointment.  Click below to view instructions on how to sign up for an online appointment.

Click here to access written instruction for accessing the Writing Center.

Click here to access the Lee University Writing Center now.