This guide exists to aid you in locating resources that will enhance your research about Christian Leadership. Here you will find highlights of the most relevant databases, including search strategies to help you get started in your research. You will also find a list of a few key resources. Please use the "Chat with a Librarian" instant messaging service during library hours or contact the Distance Learning Librarian at email@example.com should you need additional research assistance.
Write a paper developing an integrated definition of Christian leadership.
The structure of the paper should be as follows:
The paper proposal (Due at the end of Week 3) should be 2-3 pages in length, double-spaced, 12-point Times New Roman font with 1-inch margins, and written in the Turabian (SOR Manual of Style) format.
The final paper should be 10-12 pages in length, double-spaced, 12-point Times New Roman font with 1-inch margins, and written in the Turabian (SOR Manual of Style) format.
There are a lot of resources out there! The trick is finding the resources that actually deal with your research topic and address the subject of your paper. To accomplish this seemingly daunting task, you need to develop a search strategy.
The ATLA Religion database is the premiere religion database offered through Squires Library and offers several valuable tools that will enhance your research process. See the list below to view each tool individually or scroll through the list of instructions to view all.
Use the multiple search boxes in the ATLA Religion Database to create a search strategy and search for multiple terms that describe your search topic. Watch the instructional video below to see how to complete an Advanced Search.
Using the Indexes tool in ATLA will help you easily identify sources that are about a specific topic. The ATLA Index works much like an index in a book, find your topic and then see where information about that topic is located. For our purposes, using the Index tool to search by subject will be most beneficial. Watch the instructional video below to see how this tool in action.
Another helpful tool in ATLA is the thesaurus. Using the Thesaurus tool in ATLA will help you identify other subject terms that are related to your search topic. This tool is similar to the ATLA Index tool but is different in that it will help you broaden your search outside of your original keyword search. Watch the instructional video below to see how this tool in action.
Using the Scriptures tool in ATLA will help you easily identify sources that are about a specific Biblical text. This tool allows you to search for resources that are about a specific book in the Bible, a certain chapter in a book in the Bible, or even a key verse in the Bible. You can also limit these resources by entering additional search terms to your scripture search. Watch the instructional video below to see how this tool in action.
Related Research Starters
These research starters, supplied by Salem Press through the library's EBSCO Discovery Service, provide an excellent place to begin your research. Each research starter gives a brief summary of the leadership style and each includes a bibliography. Use these research starters to become more familiar with the different styles of leadership and to look for words, terms and phrases that might help you develop your search strategy.
Remember: the bibliography or works cited page of any work is a vital resource; it can lead you to other credible resources to use in your research!
Below you will find some of our top databases for your research topic. The links will take you to some general search results. This is a great place to start but remember to add some other search terms to limit your results even further and to create a list of resources that are even more specific to your research topic.
When searching in the library's online catalog, remember to limit your results to items that are available as Material Type: EBOOKS.
I completed a simple subject search for the term "Christian leadership." Click here to see a complete list of my results. You will need to limit by Material Type: EBOOKS to see only those resources that are available electronically. View the short video below to learn how.