Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Starter - ENGL 110 (Lee Online)

Getting Started

Welcome to William G. Squires Library!  When you are new to a library, it can be difficult to figure out where all the resources you need are located.  This brief guide will help you know where to look for particular types of resources.  Please feel free to contact the library with any research questions you may have; we are here to help!



  • To search the library's print and eBook collection, click on Catalog Search.

    • You may search by title, author, key word, or subject.  

      • Books in the physical library collection will have a call number listed.

      • To access electronic books, simply click on the link.


  • To search the library's electronic databases, click on Databases.

    • This will take you to the library's A to Z listing of all of our databases.  

    • You may choose to limit your search to databases in your specific field or discipline.

    • If you aren't sure where to begin, choose D from the alphabetical listing and scroll down until you see Discovery Service.

      • Students can search through almost all of the library’s resources by searching through the Discovery Service.  This is a great place to start if you are new to the library and its resources.

        • Click on Discovery Service.

          • Students will be prompted to enter in a username and password to access the databases.  This information is the same username and password you use to login to Portico, Moodle and your Lee email.  Please contact the library should you have any trouble accessing the databases (library@leeuniversity.edu).

        • You may search by title or author.

        • We encourage you to perform an Advanced Search if you would like to browse the library resources on a particular topic.

          • Click on the “Advanced Search” link.

          • Enter in multiple search terms to narrow down your result list. 

            • Remember, research is an investigation; it might take a few different searches and the use of different word combinations to finally find the resources you are looking for.  Don’t get discouraged!  And ask the library for help should you get stuck.

          • Your results will tell you certain things about the resources:

            • Type of Resource 

            • Title of Resource

            • Author and Citation Information

            • Subject of Resource (note this will help you determine if the resource actually deals with your topic.

            • If the resource is available through the library collection. Look for resources that have “PDF Full Text” access, “Linked Full Text” access, or a “Full Text Finder” option. 

            • For resources not available directly through the library's collection, you may be able to request the item through Interlibrary Loan.  Contact ill@leeuniversity.edy with any questions you may have about Interlibrary Loan.

          • Click on the title to view move info about the resource.

          • Or click on the full text link to access the resource directly.

Contacting the Library

Other Library Videos