Opposing Viewpoints
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. -- Gale Cengage
Database Access - Username/Password
To use the Library's databases and e-book collections, you will be asked to enter a username and password. This username and password is now your personal username and password information, the same username and password that you enter to login to Moodle, Portico, and your Lee email.
When you attempt to access the library's databases, you will see the screen below. As a Lee student, choose the first box.
You will then be taken to a login screen where you will enter in your own personal username and password. The screen for Lee students will look like this...
If at any time you encounter the following ACA login, please contact the library for assistance.
Please contact the Reference desk during library hours at (423) 614-8562 if you have any questions or you may email us anytime at library@leeuniversity.edu.
Identifying Argumentative Essays in Opposing Viewpoints
Identifying Argumentative Essays in Opposing Viewpoints
First, go to the Opposing Viewpoints database.
You will notice that the landing page offers links to all the hot topics currently in the news. Let's click on "Global Warming and Climate Change" to see what information we can find on this topic.
After we click on the link, we are taken to a page that is loaded with information about our topic. If you want to see some examples of argumentative papers about your topic,look at the first box titled "featured viewpoints." This is a collection of pieces that express opposing viewpoints about the topic being discussed. Let's click on the first article to learn more.
When you click on one of the articles titles listed under Featured Viewpoints, you will be taken to the full text of the article.
But wait! There's more!
You will also see the following features as labeled below:
- Title of article
- Important quote from the article
- Brief bio and description of the author of the article and his/her viewpoints on the issue
- Questions to think about while you read the article
- Full text of article
Use these research aids to help you understand the argument the author is presenting in their essay.
Opposing Viewpoints
The Opposing Viewpoints Database provides a broad overview of contemporary issues.
The Featured Issue includes related resources including:
- an overview of the issue
- featured viewpoints
- academic journal articles
- primary sources
- references
- biographies
- infographics
- images, videos, and audio files
- magazine and news articles
- websites
- statistics
- a list of other related topics
You can learn more about finding resources in Opposing Viewpoints by watching the instructional video below.