Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Starter - DIGM 200: Finding Resources

eBooks

Getting Started

Welcome to William G. Squires Library!  When you are new to a library, it can be difficult to figure out where all the resources you need are located.  This brief guide will help you know where to look for particular types of resources.  Please feel free to contact the library with any research questions you may have; we are here to help!

1. The library homepage can be accessed at http://www.leeuniversity.edu/library/.

2. Students can search through almost all of the library’s resources by searching through the EBSCO Discovery Service box.  This is a great place to start if you are new to the library and its resources.

3. If you know the Title of the work or the Author’s name, choose Title or Author from the drop-down menu and enter in your info.

4. If you want to perform a search for a specific topic or subject, we suggest you perform an advanced search.  Click on the “Advanced Search” link.

5. Students will be prompted to enter in a username and password to access the databases.  This information is the same username and password you use to login to Portico, Moodle, and your Lee email.  Please contact the library should you have any trouble accessing the databases (library@leeuniversity.edu).

6. Your results will tell you certain things about the resources:

  • Type of Resource 
  • Title of Resource
  • Author and Citation Information
  • Subject of Resource (note this will help you determine if the resource actually deals with your topic.
  • If the resource is available through the library collection. Look for resources that have “PDF Full Text” access, “Linked Full Text” access, or a “Full-Text Finder” option. 
  • Lee Online students can request journal articles through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) but not books.  Please contact your local library to see if they participate in an ILL program. 

8. Click on the title to view move info about the resource.

9. Or click on the full-text link to access the resource directly.

Search Strategies

Find more resources that are related to your topic!

Search the library's databases by doing an advanced search and searching by keywords that deal with your area of interest.  You may then limit your results by those items available in the library collection, by format type and/or by publication date to further narrow down your result list.  Add more search terms to further narrow your results. Remember, research is an investigation; it might take a few different searches and the use of different word combinations to finally find the resources you are looking for.  Don’t get discouraged!  And ask the library for help should you get stuck. 

First, search for the name of your assigned Television Show:

Next, narrow your results by adding multiple search terms or refine your results using the provided limiters.  Here are some ideas that might help you get better results:

  • Characters from the program
  • Actors/Actresses/Writers/Directors involved with the program
  • Television Program
  • Culture
  • Society
  • Social Impact
  • Cultural Impact

 

Cleveland Bradley County Public Library

You may be able to find some useful titles from the Cleveland Bradley County Public Library; particularly works written by or about actors, actresses, directors, and/or writers of the television programs you are studying.  Lee students may obtain a Cleveland Public Library card by using their Lee University ID.  Please note that the public library is not currently open to patrons but you may contact them online for assistance and you are able to request books for checkout.  They also have a large collection of electronic books available for check-out as well.

  

EBSCO Discovery Service Advanced Search

Access the Library's EBSCO Discovery Services to begin your search for resources! 

The EBSCO Discovery Service allows students to search through almost all of the library's databases and eBook collections from the following search screen.  Click the image below to begin your search. 

Searching Library Resources - Basic Search

Searching Library Resources - Advanced Search

Online Catalog Search for eBooks

Interlibrary Loan

Don't pay to access a journal article! Search our databases to access academic journals; this is a service provided to students through the library's database subscriptions. If the full text isn't available directly through one of our database providers, we can request the item through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service which allows us to borrow the item from a different library for you. Listed on this page are some of the many databases that are available to you for research