It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Starter - THEA 280: History
The class will be learning about how to do visual research for costumes.
Not sure where to begin?
Use the Credo Reference database to begin your research. Credo provides access to multiple dictionaries, handbooks and encyclopedias that will help you explore your topic and become more familiar with your subject matter. The Mind Map tool can help you develop better search strategies by suggesting other important and pertinent keywords related to your subject.
Search the Library's Databases
Using Subject Headings in the Library Search
Subject headings are terms assigned by authors, publishers, and librarians to books, articles, and other resources in order to identify the topic of a resource. Using these subject terms in an advanced search within the library's databases can help you locate resources that deal specifically with your research topic. Try some of these subject headings in an advanced search to find information for your historical research.
African Americans have a rich cultural history in the United States. To address the diversity and history that exists within the African American population, it is imperative to understand how they, and society, define their history and cultural heritage.
Antisemitism by Albert S. Lindemann (Editor); Richard S. Levy (Editor)Antisemitism: A History offers a readable overview of a daunting topic, describing and analyzing the hatred that Jews have faced from ancient times to the present. The essays contained in this volume provide an ideal introduction to the history and nature of antisemitism, stressing readability, balance, and thematic coherence, while trying to gain some distance from the polemics and apologetics that so often cloud the subject. Chapters have been written by leading scholars in the field and take into account the most important new developments in their areas of expertise.
Publication Date: 2010-12-09
Black Gotham by Carla L. PetersonTold in a vivid, fast-paced style, Black Gotham is an important account of the rarely acknowledged achievements of nineteenth-century African Americans and brings to the forefront a vital yet
Publication Date: 2011-02-22
Immigration by Dennis WepmanFeaturing accounts by and about immigrants, this book explores the conditions that forced different groups from their native lands, the physical and emotional challenges they faced, and the influences they had on American life.
This research starter is an encyclopedia entry telling the basic facts about Jewish Immigrants. It also contains links to other related topics and a bibliography to other useful resources.
The Jews of the United States 1654 to 2000 by Hasia R. DinerSince Peter Stuyvesant greeted with enmity the first group of Jews to arrive on the docks of New Amsterdam in 1654, Jews have entwined their fate and fortunes with that of the United States—a project marked by great struggle and great promise. What this interconnected destiny has meant for American Jews and how it has defined their experience among the world's Jews is fully chronicled in this work, a comprehensive and finely nuanced history of Jews in the United States from 1654 through the end of the past century.
This research starter is an encyclopedia entry telling the basic facts about the Panama Canal. It also contains links to other related topics and a bibliography to other useful resources.
A Respectable Woman: The Public Roles of African American Women in 19th-Century New York by Jane E. DabelIn the nineteenth century, New York City underwent a tremendous demographic transformation driven by European immigration, the growth of a native-born population, and the expansion of one of the largest African American communities in the North. New York's free blacks were extremely politically active, lobbying for equal rights at home and an end to Southern slavery. As their activism increased, so did discrimination against them, most brutally illustrated by bloody attacks during the 1863 New York City Draft Riots.The struggle for civil rights did not extend to equal gender roles, and black male leaders encouraged women to remain in the domestic sphere, serving as caretakers, moral educators, and nurses to their families and community. Yet as Jane E. Dabel demonstrates, separate spheres were not a reality for New York City's black people, who faced dire poverty, a lopsided sex ratio, racialized violence, and a high mortality rate, all of which conspired to prevent men from gaining respectable employment and political clout. Consequently, many black women came out of the home and into the streets to work, build networks with other women, and fight against racial injustice. A Respectable Woman reveals the varied and powerful lives led by black women, who, despite the exhortations of male reformers, occupied public roles as gender and race reformers.
Talk with You Like a Woman by Cheryl D. HicksWith this book, Cheryl Hicks brings to light the voices and viewpoints of black working-class women, especially southern migrants, who were the subjects of urban and penal reform in early-twentieth-century New York. Hicks compares the ideals of racial uplift and reform programs of middle-class white and black activists to the experiences and perspectives of those whom they sought to protect and, often, control. In need of support as they navigated the discriminatory labor and housing markets and contended with poverty, maternity, and domestic violence, black women instead found themselves subject to hostility from black leaders, urban reformers, and the police. Still, these black working-class women struggled to uphold their own standards of respectable womanhood. Through their actions as well as their words, they challenged prevailing views regarding black women and morality in urban America.
Publication Date: 2010-12-13
Transnational Traditions: New Perspectives on American Jewish History by Ava F. Kahn (Editor)The diverse chapters, written by leading scholars, reflect on episodes of continuity and contact between Jews in America and world Jewry over the past two centuries. Individual case studies cover a range of themes including migration, international trade, finance, cultural interchange, acculturation, and memory and commemoration. Overall, this volume will expose readers to the variety and complexity of transnational experiences and encounters within American Jewish history.