Resumes • Cover Letters • Interviews
Religion & Christian Ministry Careers:
Resumes
Tips for — Writing Your Resume
See also: General Career Guide: Resumes
Write a Resume
- Peterson's Career Prep This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Career Transitions is a career guidance center that LISTS CURRENT JOB OPENINGS, as well as walks you through the entire job-search process, including: new career possibilities • interests and experience • ways to improve prospects (networking and education) • preparing for a job search • applying for a job. You may use this database to write your RESUME and COVER LETTER, as well as prepare for your JOB INTERVIEW through an interview simulation.
Lee University Center for Calling & CareerFor assistance in writing your resume, you may contact or visit the Center for Calling & Career.
Action Verbs for Use on Your Resume
- Accomplishment bullets (VIDEO) — by Study.com
- Action Verb List — by Georgetown University
- Action Verb List — by Liberty University
Pastors & General Ministry
- Ministry Packet: Developing a Ministry Packet: Presenting Yourself for Ministry — by Liberty University
- Guidebook for Preparing Ministerial Resumes — by The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary
- Tips for Ministry Resumes — by The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary
- Your Guide to Ministerial Resumes — by Union University
Examples:
- Ordained Ministry — Westminster Theological Seminary
- Pastor — by Columbia International University
- Pastor (experience descriptions) — by JobHero.com
- Pastor — by LiveCareer.com subscribers. (View multiple pages to find resumes subscribers wrote to apply for a Pastoral position.)
- Pastoral Leadership — by Liberty University
Chaplain / Pastoral Care Worker
- Chaplain — by Best Resume Resources (Resume4Dummies)
- Chaplain (experience descriptions) — by JobHero.com
- Chaplain — by LiveCareer.com subscribers. (View multiple pages to find resumes subscribers wrote to apply for a Chaplain position.)
- Pastoral Care — by LiveCareer.com subscribers. (View multiple pages to find resumes subscribers wrote to apply for a Pastoral Care position.)
Children's Pastor
- Children's Pastor — by LiveCareer.com subscribers (View multiple pages to find resumes subscribers used to apply for a Children's Pastor position.)
- Children's Pastor (experience descriptions) — by JobHero.com
Missionary
- Missionary — by a LiveCareer.com subscriber
- Missionary (experience descriptions) — by JobHero.com
Non-Profits
- Charity & Non-Profit (experience descriptions) — by JobHero.com. Includes examples of descriptions of work experience for careers & volunteer opportunities: advocate • caseworker • chaplain • community health worker • community liaison • community outreach coordinator • community service worker • community volunteer • development director • family support worker • field organizer • fundraiser • fundraising manager • group home worker • hospice social worker • hospital volunteer • library volunteer • nursing home volunteer • outreach coordinator • outreach worker • pastor • patient advocate • peer support specialist • volunteer • volunteer manager • youth care worker • youth director • youth group leader • youth minister • youth program coordinator • youth worker
Worship Pastor
- Music Ministry — by Columbia International University
- Worship Intern — by Liberty University
- Worship Leader — by Liberty University
- Worship Pastor — by LiveCareer.com subscribers (View multiple pages to find resumes subscribers used to apply for a Worship Pastor position.)
- Worship Pastor Resume Samples (experience descriptions) — by JobHero.com
Youth Pastor
- A Ministry Resume That Gets Noticed — by Life in Student Ministry (studentministry.org)
- Rocking Your Ministry Resume — by Youthworker Movement
- Youth Ministry Resume — by Columbia International University
- Youth Minister Resume (experience descriptions) — by JobHero.com
12/8/21:aah
Religion & Christian Ministry Careers:
Cover Letters
Tips for — Writing Your Cover Letter
See also: General Career Guide: Cover Letters
Write a Cover Letter
- Peterson's Career Prep This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Career Transitions is a database that is available through Squires Library. You may prepare a COVER LETTER from within the Career Transitions database. Click on "Write a Cover Letter" (located toward the top of the database's home page).
- Lee University Center for Calling & CareerFor assistance in writing your cover letter, you may contact or visit the Center for Calling & Career.
General Cover Letter Tips & Examples
Following are links to sites that offer tips and examples of cover letters. These resources have been compiled by various libraries, educational institutions, professional organizations, and career services.
- Composing a Cover Letter — by Georgetown University
- Formatting Your Cover Letter — by Georgetown University
- Action Verb List — by Georgetown University
- Action Verb List — by Liberty University
Ministry Cover Letter Tips & Examples
Pastor & General Ministry
- Guidelines & Samples (by Columbia International University)
- Ministerial Resumes (by The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary)
- Pastor (LiveCareer.com)
Chaplain
Youth Pastor
12/8/21:aah
Religion & Christian Ministry Careers:
Interviews
Tips for — Your Job Interview
See also: General Career Guide: Interviews
Prepare for a Job Interview Using an Interview Simulation
- Peterson's Career Prep This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Career Transitions is a database that is available through Squires Library. You may prepare for a JOB INTERVIEW using the database's INTERVIEW SIMULATION feature. From within the Career Transitions database, click on "Interview Simulation" (located toward the top of the database's home page).
- Lee University Center for Calling & CareerFor assistance in preparing for an interview or writing an interview follow-up letter, you may contact or visit the Center for Calling & Career.
Interview Tips
- Application & Interview Tips — by Columbia International University. Includes questions Christian organizations might ask.
- Interviewing for Ministerial Positions — by The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary
- Interview Tips (VIDEOS) — by Study.com. Includes videos about: Best impression • Interview questions • Preparing answers • How to dress • How to perform best • Team job interview • Second job interview
- Interview tips — by Work It Daily
Follow-Up Thank-You Letter
- Interview follow-up tips (VIDEO) — by Study.com
- Thank-you letter tips — by Resume-Now.com
- Thank-You Letter Guidelines & Samples — by Columbia International University. (Includes examples of a follow-up letters for church ministry and Christian teaching positions.)
11/12/23:aah
Career & Job Search Assistance
Lee University Center for Calling & Career
Career Guidance & Resources for Lee University Students & Alumni
(423) 614-8630
ccc@leeuniversity.edu
leeuniversity.edu/calling-career
career exploration • career counseling
strengths development • mentor networking
job search techniques • employer research
resume review • interview preparation