Search the Library's Resources
The Search Process
Follow these steps every time you search for resources.
- Create a list of words that describe your topic.
- Choose a database that most aligns with your topic.
- Search for a combination of words from your word list.
- Use the asterisk to expand your search (nurs*)
- Use quotations to look for multiple words as a phrase ("mental health")
- Use the filters to limit your results
- Full Text
- Source Type
- Date Range
- Peer Reviewed
- Pay attention to the subject headings and consider adding those terms to your search.
- Remember, research is a process so if at first you don't succeed, try again!
- If you get stuck, contact the library for help.
Find Resources
-
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more. Take a few minutes to evaluate all that CINAHL Complete has to offer and you’ll see why hundreds of thousands of nurses and allied health professionals rely on this essential resource.
-- Ebsco -
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. -- NCBI
-
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. -
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Offers an unprecedented wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world. -- Ebsco -
Health & Wellness Resource Center
This rich online resource is unparalleled in the industry, offering 24/7 access to thousands of full-text medical journals, periodicals, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. -
Health and Medicine
Discover periodicals and reference book content designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. -
Human Kinetics Journals
Human Kinetics is the world's foremost information provider in physical activity and allied health fields. Our journals provide quality, cutting-edge information for use by professors, teachers, researchers, practitioners, health care professionals, coaches, fitness enthusiasts, and many others. -- Human Kinetics Journals -
Nursing and Allied Heath Collection
With full-text access to nearly 100 journals, Nursing & Allied Health Collection, is an asset to medical researchers, medical assistants and nursing students. Most of the journals covered are available in cover-to-cover PDF and provide information on specialized care, treat and management of patients. -
PsycARTICLES
Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with PsycARTICLES, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals. -- Ebsco -
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
This full-text database is an essential tool for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines. -- Ebsco -
Psychotherapy.net
Videos for teaching, training, self-study and continuing education. Since 1995, Psychotherapy.net has been producing and distributing the highest quality training videos in psychotherapy, counseling and addiction treatment available anywhere. Now available in DVDs and instant streaming. -- Psychotherapy.net -
PsycINFO
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research. -- Ebsco
-
PubMed PubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. -- NCBI
Here is a short video demonstrating how to search in PubMed.
If you are not familiar with searching PubMed, you may want to review the PubMed tutorials at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/pubmedtutorial/ or contact the library for help.
This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more. Take a few minutes to evaluate all that CINAHL Complete has to offer and you’ll see why hundreds of thousands of nurses and allied health professionals rely on this essential resource.
-- Ebsco
-- Ebsco