Citation Help
- APA Citation Help
Get help with citing your sources in APA Style.
William G. Squires Library
Research Help
- ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. ERIC's mission is to provide a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public. - Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
This full-text database covers key areas of education and related fields of study. Education Full Text is an essential source for education research and is ideal for education students, professionals and policy makers.
- A-Z List (All databases listed alphabetically)
See all the library's databases listed alphabetically. - Choose Reliable Resources
Learn how to choose the best resources to support your research. - Fallacies to Avoid
Learn fallacies are and how to avoid them in your own writing. - Helpful Phrases for Writing
Access lists of helpful phrases to enhance your writing. - Request an Interlibrary Loan
Request resources not available in our library collection. - Search for Resources
Learn how to search for resources. - TALC (Tennessee Academic Library Cooperative)
Learn more about the Tennessee Academic Library Cooperative.
The purpose of the literature review:
- What?
- assess and explain what is known about a subject and what is not known about a subject.
- This is what we know:
- Summarize current research related to your topic.
- This is what we don't know:
- Identify voids or gaps in the research surrounding your topic.
- This is what we know:
- assess and explain what is known about a subject and what is not known about a subject.
- Why?
- discover the value, importance, and pertinence of researching your topic.
- How?
- identify appropriate methods to evaluate and examine your topic.
Information adapted from The Doctor of Nursing Practice Project (2020), K. Moran, R. Burson, and D. Conrad.
How to conduct a search for literature.
- Identify the problem and construct a question.
- What is the problem and how might we go about solving the problem?
- Choose the appropriate database.
- Develop your search strategy.
- Keywords
- Asterisk
- Quotation marks
- Boolean operators vs. none
- Limiters/filters
- Subject headings
- Citation chasing
- Conduct the search.
- Evaluate the results.
- Peer reviewed
- Primary vs. secondary
- Grey literature
- Documents produced by government institutions, academic institutions, businesses, and organizations that are not controlled by commercial publishing.
- If necessary, refine your search strategy.
Information adapted from The Doctor of Nursing Practice Project (2020), K. Moran, R. Burson, and D. Conrad.
| Year of Publication | Publication Information (Author, Title, Journal) | Objective of Research | Research Design/Methodology | Sample Size | Results/Conclusions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | Kwee, et al., Metabolites and diabetes remission after weight loss. Nutr Diabetes. | identify biomarkers predictive of type 2 diabetes remission and amount of weight loss in individuals with severe obesity | targeted, quantitative mass spectrometry-based metabolomic profiling pre and post-intervention | 324 | identified circulating baseline biomarkers associated with diabetes remission |
| 2022 | Kermansaravi, et al., Current Status of Metabolic/Bariatric Surgery in Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus: an Updated Systematic Review and Meta-analysis. Obes Surg. | systematic review and meta-analysis intend to evaluate the efficacy of metabolic/bariatric surgeries (MBS) in patients with type-1 diabetes mellitus | literature search and meta-analysis | 27 primary studies comprising 648 subjects | MBS acceptable and durable effects of bariatric surgical procedures |
Information adapted from The Doctor of Nursing Practice Project (2020), K. Moran, R. Burson, and D. Conrad.