Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Starter - ENGL 308: Composition Theory

Composition Theory

Databases

You may also find useful resources in the following databases:

Amy Mercer

Amy Mercer's picture
Amy Mercer
Contact:
LIB203
423-614-8564

Start Your Research

Tips for searching:

  • Use EBSCO Discovery Service and other databases
  • EBSCO Discovery Service contains both full-text e-books and journal articles.
  • When plugging in keywords, use quotation marks around phrases but not around single words. For example:  “good writing,” audience, multiculturalism, collaborative, minorities, “cognitive process”    

As you begin to type keywords, Discovery Service will sometimes offer suggestions for narrowing your search:

                                                               

You may choose one of the suggested phrases or you may continue with a simple keyword. You may also add other keywords as applicable.

                                                             

Here is another example:

                                                             

 

The following subject headings are common in the discipline of composition theory and may be useful when conducting searches. Enter them as is (include the dashes):

                                   English language – rhetoric

                                   English language – grammar

                                   English language – composition and exercises

                                   Report writing - study and teaching

                                   English teachers – training of

For example:

 

                                 

 

                  

 

When searching the ERIC Education Database, search with multiple search terms separated by the word 'and.'

 

 

Limit your search to 'full-text.' Full-text results are available in PDF format:

 

 

Topical resources in the library:

To save search results for later, create an account using "sign in" on the right-hand side of the navy blue bar. If you already have an EBSCO account, the folder will be open (see below).

 

 

 

 

 

Tutorials

Library Tutorials - Searching for Resources

This video demonstrates how to search effectively, how to process results, how to grab citations and more.

Library Tutorials - Interlibrary Loan

This video shows the steps for submitting an interlibrary loan request.

Library Tutorials - Contacting the Library

Citations

This video will instruct you on effectively giving credit where credit is due.