US Literature I: Colonial to 1865

Citation Help

MLA Citation Help
Find resources to help you cite your research according to MLA Style.

Start Your Research

Online Library Catalog
Search for books and eBooks in the library's print and electronic collection.

Discovery Service This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Discovery Service brings together the most comprehensive collection of content—including superior indexing from top subject indexes, high-end full text and the entire library collection—all within an unparalleled full-featured, customizable discovery layer experience. -- Ebsco
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
We help you explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. We collaborate with the academic community to help libraries connect students and faculty to vital content while lowering costs and increasing shelf space, provide independent researchers with free and low-cost access to scholarship, and help publishers reach new audiences and preserve their content for future generations. -- JSTOR
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
Gale Literature and Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
An integrated research experience, Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. No other publisher offers this unmatched combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature. As Gale makes additional Literary Resources available through Gale Literary Sources, and if your library has access to these products, they will be automatically added to the Gale Literary Sources experience upon release.

Tips for searching:

Use 'Advanced Search' to combine multiple search terms.

Another approach is to conduct a 'Subject Search' using the author's name. Search with the author's name or chosen work as a subject, not a keyword search (All Fields).

Use the Filters to limit your search to full text:

Use additional filters as applicable. For example, you may wish to limit your results to Academic Journals.

Use the tools in the hamburger menu on each item. The cite button allows you to copy and paste a citation in the desired format. Always check these citations for accuracy.

To save your search results for later use, create an account by signing in at MyEBSCO located in the upper right-hand side of the screen. You must be logged in for your sources to be saved long-term.

Tips for searching:

From the Gale Resources home page, select the Advanced Search feature:

From here, you may choose the default settings 'Name of Work' and 'Person-By or About.' You may also add keywords. Limit your results to 'Full-text."