Research Starter - MUSB 331: Home

Follow these steps every time you search for resources.

• Create a list of words that describe your topic.  
• Choose a database that most aligns with your topic.
• Search for a combination of words from your word list using the Boolean operator AND.
• Use the asterisk to expand your search (teach*)
• Use quotations to look for multiple words as a phrase ("music education")
• Use the filters to limit your results
  • Full Text
  • Source Type
  • Date Range
  • Peer Reviewed
• Pay attention to the subject headings and consider adding those terms to your search.
• Remember, research is a process so if at first you don't succeed, try again!
• If you get stuck, contact the library for help.

1. Define Your Research Scope

• Artist Selection: Choose the specific artist you want to research.
• Focus Areas: Decide on specific aspects you want to explore, such as the artist’s biography, musical style, discography, influence, and impact on the music industry.

2. Gather Primary Sources

• Interviews: Look for interviews with the artist, band members, producers, and collaborators.
• Recordings: Collect albums, live performance recordings, and music videos.
• Concert Reviews: Find reviews from reputable sources like newspapers, music magazines, and online platforms.

3. Collect Secondary Sources

• Books and Biographies: Search for books and biographies about the artist.
• Scholarly Articles: Use academic databases like JSTOR, Project MUSE, and Google Scholar to find scholarly articles on the artist.
• Documentaries: Watch documentaries that provide insights into the artist’s life and career.

4. Explore Tertiary Sources

• Encyclopedias: Use music encyclopedias for general information about the artist.
• Websites: Visit reputable music websites and academic databases for articles and reviews.

5. Analyze and Synthesize Information

• Timeline: Create a timeline of the artist’s career, noting key events, album releases, and significant milestones.
• Musical Style: Analyze the artist’s musical style, influences, and evolution over time.
• Impact and Influence: Assess the artist’s impact on the music industry and their influence on other artists.

Microsoft Copilot. Response to a question about researching a musical artist at the college level. September 30, 2024.

1. Define Your Research Scope

• Instrument Selection: Choose the specific instrument you want to research.
• Focus Areas: Decide on specific aspects you want to explore, such as the instrument’s origins, evolution, cultural significance, and technological advancements.

2. Gather Primary Sources

• Historical Documents: Look for historical texts, manuscripts, and patents related to the instrument.
• Interviews: Find interviews with instrument makers, musicians, and historians.
• Recordings: Collect recordings that showcase the instrument’s use in different musical contexts.

3. Collect Secondary Sources

• Books and Articles: Use your university library to access books and scholarly articles on the instrument.
• Biographies: Read biographies of notable musicians who played the instrument.
• Documentaries: Watch documentaries that provide insights into the instrument’s history and development.

4. Explore Tertiary Sources

• Encyclopedias: Use music encyclopedias for general information about the instrument.
• Websites: Visit reputable music websites and academic databases for articles and reviews.

5. Analyze and Synthesize Information

• Timeline: Create a timeline of the instrument’s history, noting key developments and changes.
• Technological Advancements: Analyze how technological changes have influenced the instrument’s design and use.
• Cultural Impact: Assess the instrument’s impact on different musical genres and cultures.

Microsoft Copilot. Response to a question about researching the history and development of an instrument. September 30, 2024.

Detailed Steps for Research and Analysis

1. Define Your Thesis

• Clearly articulate what you aim to compare. For example, “This paper compares the vocal techniques and audience engagement of Artist A and Artist B in their performances of ‘Song X’.”

2. In-Depth Analysis

• Musical Elements: Analyze melody, harmony, rhythm, tempo, and dynamics. Note any unique interpretations or deviations from the original composition.
• Vocal Techniques: Examine vibrato, pitch, tone, and articulation. How does each artist’s vocal style affect the song’s emotional impact?
• Instrumentation and Arrangement: Compare the instrumental backing and arrangement choices. Are there differences in the use of instruments or the overall arrangement?

3. Contextual Research

• Historical Context: Research the time period when each performance was made. How might historical events or cultural trends have influenced the performances?
• Artist Background: Look into the artists’ careers, influences, and previous works. Understanding their backgrounds can provide insight into their stylistic choices.

Types of Sources

1. Primary Sources

• Recordings: Obtain high-quality recordings of both performances. Use platforms like Spotify and YouTube, or purchase CDs/vinyl records.
• Interviews: Look for interviews with the artists discussing their approach to the song.
• Concert Reviews: Find reviews from reputable sources like newspapers, music magazines, and online platforms.

2. Secondary Sources

• Books and Articles: Use your university library to access books and scholarly articles on music theory, performance studies, and specific artists.
• Biographies: Read biographies or watch documentaries about the artists to gain deeper insights.
• Music Criticism: Look for critical analyses from respected music critics.

3. Tertiary Sources

• Encyclopedias: Use music encyclopedias to locate general information about the artists and the song.
• Academic Databases: Access databases like JSTOR, Project MUSE, and Google Scholar for scholarly articles.

Microsoft Copilot. Response to a question about comparing artists’ performances. September 30, 2024.

1. Define Your Research Scope

• Band Selection: Choose the band you want to research.
• Focus Areas: Decide on specific aspects you want to explore, such as the band’s formation, evolution, musical style, key albums, and impact on the music industry.

2. Gather Primary Sources

• Interviews: Look for interviews with band members, producers, and collaborators.
• Recordings: Collect albums, live performance recordings, and music videos.
• Concert Reviews: Find reviews from reputable sources like newspapers, music magazines, and online platforms.

3. Collect Secondary Sources

• Books and Biographies: Search for books and biographies about the band or its members.
• Scholarly Articles: Use academic databases like JSTOR, Project MUSE, and Google Scholar to find scholarly articles on the band.
• Documentaries: Watch documentaries that provide insights into the band’s history and development.

4. Explore Tertiary Sources

• Encyclopedias: Use music encyclopedias for general information about the band.
• Websites: Visit reputable music websites and academic databases for articles and reviews.

5. Analyze and Synthesize Information

• Timeline: Create a timeline of the band’s history, noting key events, album releases, and lineup changes.
• Musical Evolution: Analyze how the band’s musical style has evolved over time.
• Impact and Influence: Assess the band’s impact on the music industry and its influence on other artists.

Microsoft Copilot. Response to a question about researching the history and development of a band. September 30, 2024.