Twentieth Century American Drama
Citation Help
- MLA Citation Help
Find resources to help you cite your research according to MLA Style.
Contact Info
Start Your Research
- Discovery Service This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Discovery Service brings together the most comprehensive collection of content—including superior indexing from top subject indexes, high-end full text and the entire library collection—all within an unparalleled full-featured, customizable discovery layer experience. -- Ebsco - Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An integrated research experience, Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. No other publisher offers this unmatched combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature. As Gale makes additional Literary Resources available through Gale Literary Sources, and if your library has access to these products, they will be automatically added to the Gale Literary Sources experience upon release.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
We help you explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. We collaborate with the academic community to help libraries connect students and faculty to vital content while lowering costs and increasing shelf space, provide independent researchers with free and low-cost access to scholarship, and help publishers reach new audiences and preserve their content for future generations. -- JSTOR
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery. - Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH award program will fund the contribution of content from, eventually, all U.S. states and territories. -- Library of Congress - Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Find information on almost any topic from over 12,000 news sources from around the U.S. and around the world. Coverage from the 1980s to current and updated daily. Includes full text of the Chattanooga Times Free Press since 1995 -- NewsBank
- Historical Newspapers: Knoxville News Sentinel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage: 1887 - current
- Historical Newspapers: Nashville Tennessean This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with online, easily searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time
Coverage: 1812 - 2009
Tips for searching:
- Use 'Advanced Search' to combine terms
- You may add an asterisk (*) to the end of a term. In the example below, using an asterisk allows us to retrieve items with both psychology and psychoanalysis in the data record.
Another approach is to conduct a 'Subject Search' using the author's name. Search with author's name or chosen work as a subject, not keyword
Limit your search to full-text:
Use the limiters on the left as applicable. For example, you may wish to limit your results to Academic Journals.
Use the tools on the right hand side. The cite button allows you to copy and paste a citation in the desired format.
This video demonstrates how to search effectively, how to process results, how to grab citations and more.
Tips for searching:
From the Gale Resources home page, select the Advanced Search feature:
From here, you may choose the default settings 'Name of Work' and 'Person-By or About.' You may also add keywords.
Limit your results to 'Full-text.' Click on a title to access the article text.
Once you click a title, you may read the text or download the article in PDF format by selecting the downward pointing arrow.
** To access electronic resources, make sure pop-ups are enabled on your browser. **
Edward Albee: A Casebook by ISBN: 020300938XPublication Date: 2004-11-23Albee in print: PS3551.L25 on the lower level.
Susan Glaspell by ISBN: 9781443804073Publication Date: 2006-06-01Glaspell in print: PS3513.L35 on the lower level.
Hansberry's Drama by Call Number: PS3515.A515 Z57 1991ISBN: 0252017498Publication Date: 1990-11-01Hansberry in print: PS3515.A515 on the lower level.
Understanding David Mamet by ISBN: 9781611172003Publication Date: 2012-08-27Mamet in print: PS3563.A345 on the lower level.
Arthur Miller by Call Number: PS3525.I5156 Z5445 2005ISBN: 9780521844161Publication Date: 2004-12-09Miller in print: PS3525.I5156 on the lower level.
The Cambridge Companion to Eugene O'Neill by Call Number: PS3529.N5 Z575 1998ISBN: 052155389XPublication Date: 1998-09-24O'Neill in print: PS3529.N5 on the lower level.
Understanding Sam Shepard by ISBN: 9781611171877Publication Date: 2012-10-31Shepard in print: PS3569.H394 on the lower level.
Critical Essays on Tennessee Williams by Call Number: PS3545.I5365 Z615 1997ISBN: 0783800428Publication Date: 1997-09-12Williams in print: PS3545.I5365 on the lower level.
August Wilson by Call Number: PS3573.I45677 Z955 2002ISBN: 0791063623Publication Date: 2001-10-01Wilson in print: PS3573.I45677 on the lower level.
Purdue OWL Literary Theory and Schools of CriticismThese research starters, supplied by Salem Press through the library's EBSCO Discovery Service, provide an excellent place to begin your research. Each research starter gives a brief summary of some of the popular literary theories or schools of criticism and each entry includes a bibliography. Use these research starters to become more familiar with the different literary and critical theories and to look for words, terms and phrases that might help you develop your search strategy.
Remember: the bibliography or works cited page of any work is a vital resource; it can lead you to other credible resources to use in your research!
Practicing New Historicism by Call Number: PN81 .G237 2000ISBN: 9780226279350Publication Date: 2001-09-01
Deconstruction in a Nutshell by Call Number: B809.6 .D46 1997ISBN: 0823217558Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Language, Madness, and Desire by Call Number: PN45 .F5913 2015ebISBN: 9781452944920Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Marxist Literary and Cultural Theories by Call Number: PN98.C6 H33 2000ISBN: 0312226748Publication Date: 2000-01-15
Critical Race Theory by Call Number: KF4755 .D454 2001ebISBN: 0585434697Publication Date: 2001-01-01
To save search results for later, create an account using "sign in" on the right-hand side of the navy blue bar. If you already have an EBSCO account, the folder will be open (see below).
