Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Research

This guide was designed to help business students understand the basics of how to perform academic research.

General Library Information

The library's resources can be accessed at http://www.leeuniversity.edu/library/.

The library has many resources that are available to you as a student of Lee University.  This box includes several tabs; each tab reviews the basics of how to use each particular resource.

  • Business Insights: Essentials is a combination of authoritative information and statistical data with analytical tools which enable you to explore real world applications.  Use this database to find investment research/brokerage reports, SWOT reports, corporate chronologies, full-text periodicals, market research reports, industry research reports, company histories, and company profiles.
  • Business Source Ultimate  includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analysis. In addition, it is a collection of full-text journal articles from some of the industry's top business journals. 
  • The Online Catalog will allow you to find print resources in the library's physical collection as well as providing you direct access to the library's electronic book collection.  See more information about the online catalog under the tab labeled "Books - Research and Analysis."
  • EBSCO Discovery Service will allow you to search through the library's print resources, the library's electronic eBook collection, and most (but not all) of the library's databases.

Please note that you must have the library's username and password to access library resources from off campus.  You will use your Lee University username and password to access the library's databases; the same information you use to access Portico, Moodle and your Lee email.  Please contact the library should you have any questions or difficulties logging in.  

 

  1. You may perform an EBSCO Discovery Service search in order to access the library's eBook collection and almost all of the library's database subscriptions.
  2. You may also search through a specific database by clicking on the grey box labeled "Databases" on the right hand side of the screen.

Business Insights: Essentials is a combination of authoritative information and statistical data with analytical tools that enable you to explore real-world applications.  Use this database to find investment research/brokerage reports, SWOT reports, corporate chronologies, full-text periodicals, market research reports, industry research reports, company histories, and company profiles. Watch these instructional videos to learn how to utilize the Business Insights: Essentials database.

Finding Financial Ratios

Learn the Basics.

Find Company Information.
Create Comparison Reports. View Documents.
Research Industries. Perform Advanced Searches.

 

Business Source Ultimate includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analysis. In addition, it is a collection of full-text journal articles from some of the industry's top business journals. You may use this resource to find scholarly works pertaining to business.  You may also access articles from the Harvard Business Review through Business Source Ultimate; click here to learn how.   

Business Source Ultimate can be accessed through the library's list of databases. 

  • From the library's homepage (http://leeuniversity.edu/library/), choose "Databases." 
  • From the alphabetical listing, choose "B" and scroll down and click on "Business Source Ultimate."

Students will be asked to login to access the databases.  This information is the same username and password you use to access Moodle, Portico, and your Lee email.  Please contact the library if you have any trouble logging in (library@leeuniversity.edu).

Now you are ready to begin searching for resources! 

  • To search, enter your search terms into the boxes provided and then click search.

 

  • Once you have a list of results, you may choose to limit those results by using the limiters on the left hand side of  the screen.
  • "Full Text" will limit your search to only those resources that are available electronically in full text to you.
  • "References Available" will limit your results to those resources that provide references, works cited, or a bibliography.  
  • "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" will narrow your results to only those articles that are published in a peer reviewed academic journal. 

  • "Publication Date" will allow you to limit your results by the date of publication.

  • "Source Type" will allow you to choose results that are a specific format.

  • You may also limit by Subject: Thesaurus Term, Subject, Publication, Publisher, Company, Language, Geograph, or NAICS/Industry.

  • To access a resource:
    • Click on the magnifying glass to see the resource's abstract (description).
    • You may also click on the title of the resource to view more information.
    • Click on the HTML Full Text link or PDF Full Text to view the resource.
    • For articles not available in full text through the library, you may request the resource through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  This is when the library borrows the resource from another library for you.  Click here to learn more about ILL

‚Äč

 

Academic OneFile

Offers peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. 

Academic Search Complete (ASC)

A Comprehensive Full-Text Database for Multidisciplinary Research.

America's News (Newsbank)

Provides access to information on people, issues and events in the local area and around the country. This comprehensive resource offers hundreds of millions of current and archived full-text articles from news sources nationwide.

Business Collection

A comprehensive business resource, Business Collection provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.

Business Economics & Theory Collection

Offers instant access to full-text academic journals and magazines--with a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit bibliographic index. It includes more than 1,800 titles. Content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more.

Business Insights: Essentials 

Today’s business researchers demand instant access to reliable, comprehensive data and the tools to analyze and interpret the information. Gale Business Insights: Essentials delivers authoritative company and industry information, articles, and statistical data. Business owners, entrepreneurs, marketing professionals, investors, financial planners, and general researchers can explore real-world applications and develop analytical skills

Business Source Ultimate

The industry's most widely used business research database, this collection features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines. In addition, it includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analysis

Communication and Mass Media Complete - EBSCO

This resource incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other top journals in communication and media studies.

CMMC offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and other closely related fields of study.

Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1900). In addition, CMMC contains a sophisticated communication thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing.

Communications and Mass Media Collection - Gale

Brings together information found in more than 400 journals. Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature

CountryWatch 

Provides critical country-specific intelligence and data to a global audience including public and private sector organizations with overseas operations and global interests. In addition, CountryWatch provides country information to large media audiences in various venues as part of its media strategy.  The CountryWatch team has created this entire suite of products covering demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental subject matter. 

Key publications produced by CountryWatch include the CountryReviews TM, an up-to-date series of publications for each country including demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information, and the CountryWireTM, which provides daily news coverage for every country in the world and a significant news archive made up of the compendium of regional news carriers. 

CQ Researcher

Provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students

General Business File ASAP

General BusinessFile ASAP™ delivers every type of information for truly comprehensive business research: full-text journals, investment reports, directory listings and newswire releases, as well as indexing of three national newspapers. Researchers can tap into more of the world’s leading business, industry, management, economics, investment and company information, from a greater variety of sources.

General OneFile  

Gale's largest general-interest database

Global Road Warrior

World Trade Press is a publishing and information products company dedicated to providing reliable, up-to-date digital media essential for researchers, educators, travelers, and logistics and international trade professionals. A passion for high-quality, comprehensive products drives the company and our staff, which works with an international team of writers and topic experts to create content unsurpassed in the fields of culture, travel, language, trade, business, logistics, security, and communications

Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection

Provides unparalleled coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field

Infotrac Newstand

Easy access to comprehensive information on current events and news. This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section or other fields. 

Insurance & Liability Collection

Connects researchers to hundreds of thousands of articles from these leading journals, which are updated daily: Best’s Review, Business Insurance, Claims, Employee Benefit Plan Review, National Underwriter Life & Health, Pensions & Investments, Risk Management, Journal of Pension Planning & Compliance, and more

JSTOR

JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Military and Intelligence Database  

Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue.

Polling the Nations

Comprehensive polling results

Popular Culture Collection  

For any social sciences, history, art, or liberal arts researcher, the Popular Culture Collection provides useful information from over two million articles found in over 100 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily, including:  Advertising Age, American Theatre, Billboard, Cosmopolitan, Daily Variety, Hollywood Reporter, Journal for the Psychoanalysis of Culture & Society, Macleans, Newsweek, Vogue, and more

Regional Business News

This robust database provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Whether searching for information about presidential candidates, franchise restaurants, the retail industry, business planning, or political participation, Regional Business News will cover the story

Small Business Collection

Ideal for business schools and entrepreneurs, Small Business Collection is updated daily and provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Users find more than 500 subject-appropriate, active, full-text periodicals, including: Beverage Industry, Black Enterprise, Economist, Entrepreneurship: Theory and Practice, HR Magazine, Real Estate Weekly, Restaurant Business, Tea & Coffee Trade Journal, and more.

Small Business Resource Center

Created by subject experts and a librarian advisory board, it covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including finance, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, and taxes.

Statesman's Yearbook Online

The Statesman's Yearbook remains the first point of reference for reliable, concise information on any country in the world, with expanded coverage of history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country, all thoroughly researched and verified by a dedicated editorial team.

Westlaw's Campus Research

A premier research service for news, business, and law-related information