Get information from databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Search the Library Databases and Print Collection
Find books
The Oxford Companion to United States History by Call Number: Ref E174 .O94 2001ISBN: 0195082095Publication Date: 2001-07-04
American Colonial History by Call Number: Ref E174 .O94 2001ISBN: 9780300187328Publication Date: 2016-04-26
1776 by Call Number: E208 .M396 2006ISBN: 0743226720Publication Date: 2006-07-04
Democracy in America by Call Number: JK216 .T6513 2000ISBN: 0872204944Publication Date: 2000-06-01
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 by Call Number: Ref E185 .E545 2006ISBN: 9780195167771Publication Date: 2006-04-06
Battle Cry of Freedom: The Civil War Era by Call Number: E173 .O94ISBN: 9780195038637Publication Date: 1988-02-25
Parting the Waters: America in the King years; vol.1 by Call Number: E185.61 .B7914 1988ISBN: 0671460978Publication Date: 1988-11-15
March by Call Number: E840.8.L43 A3 2013ISBN: 9781603093958Publication Date: 2016-09-06
Use primary sources
- America's NewsBankWith unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos.
- American Civil War: Letters and DiariesCivil War Letters and Diaries contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs.
- Early American ImprintsBooks, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 17th and 18th centuries
- Early Encounters in North AmericaEarly Encounters in North America contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750This free historical archive is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. -- Ebsco
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsAccess online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films
- The Gilder Lehrman CollectionThe Gilder Lehrman Collection includes more than 60,000 letters, diaries, maps, pamphlets, printed books, newspapers, photographs, and ephemera that document the political, social, and economic history of the United States from 1493 through the twentieth century.