Citation Help
- STM Citation Help
Get help with citing your sources in the School of Theology & Ministry Manual of Style.
Research Help
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate boasts an extensive collection of 10,033 active full-text journals, a significant portion of which undergo peer review and are featured in prominent citation indexes. It covers a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience.
Also searchable in Discovery Service.
- ATLA Religion This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials provides coverage dating back to 1908 with indexing for some journal titles extending back into the 19th century. Full-text journal articles and reviews are selected for inclusion by leading religion scholars. -- Ebsco
Also searchable in Discovery Service.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. Get fast and easy full-text access to top journals. - Discovery Service This link opens in a new window
Search through most of the library's databases, all in one search! - PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with PsycARTICLES, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals. -- Ebsco - eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Offering more than 160,000 e-books, this collection includes titles from leading university presses.
Research Paper: “A Historical Look Back at the Pastoral Care of Children”
Below are listed the required elements of your research paper according to the assignment rubric. Be sure to address each element listed so you can receive full credit for each section.
Click on the link(s) under each element to access research help for that specific aspect of your paper.
- Feel free to adapt the premade searches provided at these links. These searches are meant to model how searching works. To learn more, watch this instructional video.
- Remember, research is an exercise in trial and error, so, if at first you don't succeed, try again!
- When you locate an item that deals with your topic of research, be sure to check the list of References. This list of resources can help you find other books and articles that will be pertinent to your research.
Please contact the library if you have any questions about your research.
Required elements:
- 20 points
- Provide examples of pastoral care to children and teaching about children.
- 50 points
- Demonstrate research of church history and its relation to the care of children by
- providing an overview of approaches used for pastoral care and church care of children.
- describing recent church history and children’s ministry models.
- articulating the theological principles that undergird the pastoral care of children.
- Demonstrate research of church history and its relation to the care of children by
- 50 points
- How has the past influenced the present?
- Draw conclusions between research and practice, explaining how the past has influenced the approach to children’s ministry and pastoral care today.
- How has the past influenced the present?
- 20 points
- Answer the following questions:
- Should there be changes made in the approach to pastoral care of children, and if so, what are they?
- What do you see as the primary obstacles to caring for children in today’s world and what are some potential solutions?
- Answer the following questions:
- 20 points
- Name one contemporary issue that is affecting the pastoral care of children and identify the type of pastoral care that would best address that specific issue.
- 20 points
- Scholarly writing, including proper grammar and college-level composition.
- 20 points
- Citations and formatting according to School of Theology and Ministry Style.
- A-Z List (All databases listed alphabetically)
See all the library's databases listed alphabetically. - Choose Reliable Resources
Learn how to choose the best resources to support your research. - Avoiding Plagiarism
Learn how to avoid plagiarizing. - Search for Resources
Learn how to search for resources. - Library Instructional Videos
Access multiple instructional videos to guide you through utilizing the library's resources.