Citation Help
- APA Citation Help
Get help with citing your sources in APA Style. - STM Citation Help
Get help with citing your sources in the School of Theology & Ministry Manual of Style.
Research Help
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time. -- CQ Press
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. -- Gale Cengage
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate boasts an extensive collection of 10,033 active full-text journals, a significant portion of which undergo peer review and are featured in prominent citation indexes. It covers a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience.
Also searchable in Discovery Service.
- Discovery Service This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Discovery Service brings together the most comprehensive collection of content—including superior indexing from top subject indexes, high-end full text and the entire library collection—all within an unparalleled full-featured, customizable discovery layer experience. -- Ebsco
Click below to learn how to use each database.
The CQ Researcher Database provides a broad overview of contemporary topics in its Featured Reports.
The Featured Reports include
- a brief Introduction
- a thorough Overview of the topic
- the topic Background
- the Current Situation surrounding the topic
- a future Outlook concerning the topic
- Pro/Con voices
- a detailed Chronology
- Short Features
- Maps/Graphs
- and information About the Author.
- Each report also includes a Bibliography and Footnotes so you can locate these resources for your research.
You can learn more about finding resources in CQ Researcher by watching the instructional video below.
The Opposing Viewpoints Database provides a broad overview of contemporary issues.
The Featured Issue includes related resources including:
- an overview of the issue
- featured viewpoints
- academic journal articles
- primary sources
- references
- biographies
- infographics
- images, videos, and audio files
- magazine and news articles
- websites
- statistics
- a list of other related topics
You can learn more about finding resources in Opposing Viewpoints by watching the instructional video below.
Search Strategy
If you want to search EBSCO Discovery Service for examples of argumentative essays, try this search strategy.
Go to the library's Ebsco Discovery Service Database. Choose Advanced Search.
When accessing the library's databases, you may be asked to enter your username and password. This information is the same as the credentials you use to login to Moodle, Portico, and your Lee email. Please contact the library if you have any trouble logging in to any of the library's databases.
From the Ebsco Discovery Service, you can search through a large majority of the library's database. Follow the directions below to find examples of argumentative essays.
- Enter your broad topic into the first search box. Examples include abortion, global warming, gun control, capital punishment, and immigration.
- Note: If your first search doesn't have many results or you don't find what you are looking for, explore different words to represent your topic. For example, in place of "global warming," you might try the term "climate change."
- From the drop-down menu choose "Subject Terms."
- In the second search box, type in the word "Editorial." This will help to limit your results to argumentative essays.
- Leave the second dropdown menu as "Select a Field" as this will allow EBSCO to look through the entire article for the term editorial.
- Click search.
Click on the links below to see a list of potential topics for your paper.
Click on any topics you are interested in to learn more about both sides of the issue. If you want to learn more about searching in these databases, see more in the box below.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowOnce inside the database, choose the "Hot Topics" tab to browse by current hot topics.
- Opposing ViewpointsClick here to see a list of potential topics from the Opposing Viewpoints database.
- Academic Writing
Learn how to write in academic style. - Avoiding Plagiarism
Learn how to avoid plagiarizing. - Choose Reliable Resources
Learn how to choose the best resources to support your research. - Library Instructional Videos
Access multiple instructional videos to guide you through utilizing the library's resources. - Search for Resources
Learn how to search for resources.