Home
Start research
- Congressional Service Reports The Congressional Research Service, a component of the Library of Congress, conducts research and analysis for Congress on a broad range of national policy issues. While many CRS memoranda are generated in response to individual Member or staff inquiries and are confidential, most CRS reports are available to anyone who has access to a congressional intranet. Yet at the direction of Congress, CRS does not make even its non-confidential publications directly available to the public online. In order to help overcome this unnecessary barrier, the Federation of American Scientists endeavors to provide current, regularly updated public access to as many non-confidential CRS reports as possible. These reports are provided without congressional or CRS authorization as a public service.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window More than 6,600 active full-text journals and magazines in various disciplines.Also searchable in Discovery Service.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time. -- CQ Press
- Criminal Justice Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice and related fields, including law, law enforcement, security, forensic science, and homeland security. -- Gale Cengage
This link opens in a new window
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. -- Gale Cengage
- This link opens in a new window
- ChildStats.gov The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 23 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families.
- Pew Research Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank. You need an account to login to access statistics and the account is free.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window More than 6,600 active full-text journals and magazines in various disciplines.Also searchable in Discovery Service.
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window This full-text database covers key areas of education and related fields of study. Education Full Text is an essential source for education research and is ideal for education students, professionals and policy makers.
- ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. ERIC's mission is to provide a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are accurate, objective, relevant, timely, and accessible.
- Census Bureau The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation's leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.
- ChildStats.gov The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 23 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families.
- Congress.gov Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
- Congressional Service Reports The Congressional Research Service, a component of the Library of Congress, conducts research and analysis for Congress on a broad range of national policy issues. While many CRS memoranda are generated in response to individual Member or staff inquiries and are confidential, most CRS reports are available to anyone who has access to a congressional intranet. Yet at the direction of Congress, CRS does not make even its non-confidential publications directly available to the public online. In order to help overcome this unnecessary barrier, the Federation of American Scientists endeavors to provide current, regularly updated public access to as many non-confidential CRS reports as possible. These reports are provided without congressional or CRS authorization as a public service.
- Explore Census Data topics (formerly American Fact Finder) The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy
- Government Accountability Office The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO examines how taxpayer dollars are spent and provides Congress and federal agencies with objective, reliable information to help the government save money and work more efficiently.
- Government Datasets Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
- HealthData.gov This site is dedicated to making data discoverable and making valuable government data available to the public in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
- Jobs4TN From the TN Department of Labor.
- National Center for Education Statistics The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
- Pew Research Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank. You need an account to login to access statistics and the account is free.
- Tennessee Government Directory Click on department heading to go to pages.
- United States Government Manual The United States Government Manual was published initially as a loose-leaf notebook, its pages held in place by three metal rings. For over eight decades, this New Deal-era publication has been the "official handbook" of the Federal Government. A regularly updated special edition of the Federal Register, it includes leadership tables and describes agency activities and programs of the executive, judicial, and legislative branches of Government, as well as activities and programs of quasi-official agencies and international organizations in which the United States participates as a member.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time. -- CQ Press
- ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. ERIC's mission is to provide a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public.
- Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window Offers an unprecedented wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world. -- EbscoAlso searchable in Discovery Service.
- Census Bureau The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation's leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.
- Health and Medical Care Archive The Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA) is the data archive of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF), the largest philanthropy devoted exclusively to health and health care in the United States. Operated by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) at the University of Michigan with funding from RWJF, HMCA preserves and disseminates data collected by selected research projects funded by RWJF and facilitates secondary analyses of the data. The data collections in HMCA include large-scale surveys of the American public about public health, attitudes towards health reform, and access to medical care; surveys of health care professionals and organizations, public health professionals, and nurses; evaluations of innovative programs for the delivery of health care, and many other topics and populations of interest. Our goal is to increase understanding of health and health care and the factors that contribute to health in the United States through secondary analysis of RWJF-supported data collections.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window More than 6,600 active full-text journals and magazines in various disciplines.Also searchable in Discovery Service.
- Health & Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new window This rich online resource is unparalleled in the industry, offering 24/7 access to thousands of full-text medical journals, periodicals, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
- This link opens in a new window
- Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window Discover periodicals and reference book content designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
- This link opens in a new window
- Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window Offers an unprecedented wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world. -- EbscoAlso searchable in Discovery Service.
- National Survey of Counseling Center Directors D-Scholarship@Pitt is an institutional repository for the research output of the University of Pittsburgh. D-Scholarship@Pitt provides stable, long-term storage and ongoing maintenance for content contained within the repository. Materials are submitted directly by authors with an active University of Pittsburgh Computer Account. Submissions are restricted to scholarly research materials. Examples of items that this repository can accommodate include: Research papers, published or unpublished Conference papers and presentations Supporting multimedia (audio, video, images, etc.) Research data Electronic Theses and Dissertations
- Pew Research Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank. You need an account to login to access statistics and the account is free.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with PsycARTICLES, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals. -- Ebsco
- Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. Offers content in all fields of psychology of interest to both researchers and general users. -- Gale Cengage
- This link opens in a new window
- Center for Information & Research on Civic Learning and Engagement CIRCLE, the Center for Information and Research on Civic Learning & Engagement, is a non-partisan, independent research organization focused on youth civic engagement in the United States.
- Pew Research Center Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window More than 6,600 active full-text journals and magazines in various disciplines.Also searchable in Discovery Service.
- ATLA Religion This link opens in a new window Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials provides coverage dating back to 1908 with indexing for some journal titles extending back into the 19th century. Full-text journal articles and reviews are selected for inclusion by leading religion scholars. -- EbscoAlso searchable in Discovery Service.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time. -- CQ Press
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. -- Gale Cengage
- This link opens in a new window
- Pop Culture Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art, or liberal arts courses. -- Gale Cengage
- This link opens in a new window
- Jobs and Work Abroad Programs As the leading online search engine for international travel programs, we bring everything you need to travel abroad straight to your fingertips—from thousands of program opportunities with real life participant reviews, to expert travel articles and scholarships. As you spin the globe, daydream about your options, and buckle-down to plan your own adventure, GoAbroad has got you covered every step of the way. We’ve made it our mission to connect meaningful travelers like you with the programs of your dreams.
- World Comparison Chart for Teaching English Abroad Compare the most popular countries for teaching English abroad at a glance in Europe, Asia, Latin America & the Middle East and North Africa
- Country Watch This link opens in a new window
CountryWatch is an information provider for corporations, government agencies, universities, schools, libraries and individuals needing up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world. -- Country Watch
People to contact:
For the permission form: Dr. Bryan Poole
For help in the process: Dr. Michael Sturgeon
- Username and Password InstructionsDirections on how to access library databases on and off campus.
