Skip to Main Content

OPAL Network - Online Publications & Academic Library Network

Learn how to utilize the library's resourcs.

Open Athens Username and Password

To use the Library's databases and e-book collections, you will be asked to enter a username and password.  This username and password is your own personal username and password information provided to you by your library coordinator.  Please contact your library coordinator with questions about your Open Athens username and password.  

When you attempt to access the library's databases, you will see the screen below. 

Please choose the last option, Open Athens to sign in with an Open Athens account.  

You will then be taken to a login screen where you will enter in your own personal username and password.  This is the information that should be provided to you by your library coordinator.    

Please contact your library coordinator with questions about your username and password.  Please contact the Reference Desk during library hours at (423) 614-8562 if you have questions or email us anytime at library@leeuniversity.edu. 

 

Searching in Academic Search Ultimate

Searching in ATLA

The ATLA Religion database is the premiere religion database offered through Squires Library and offers several valuable tools that will enhance your research process. Click on the options below to learn more about each individual tool.

Advanced Search

Use the multiple search boxes in the ATLA Religion Database to create a search strategy and search for multiple terms that describe your search topic. Watch the instructional video below to see how to complete an Advanced Search.

Scripture Search

Using the Scriptures tool in ATLA will help you easily identify sources that are about a specific Biblical text. This tool allows you to search for resources that are about a specific book in the Bible, a certain chapter in a book in the Bible, or even a key verse in the Bible. You can also limit these resources by entering additional search terms into your scripture search. Watch the instructional video below to see how this tool in action.

Indexes

Using the Indexes tool in ATLA will help you easily identify sources that are about a specific topic. The ATLA Index works much like an index in a book, find your topic and then see where information about that topic is located. For our purposes, using the Index tool to search by subject will be most beneficial. Watch the instructional video below to see how this tool in action.

Thesaurus

Another helpful tool in ATLA is the thesaurus. Using the Thesaurus tool in ATLA will help you identify other subject terms that are related to your search topic. This tool is similar to the ATLA Index tool but is different in that it will help you broaden your search outside of your original keyword search. Watch the instructional video below to see how this tool in action.

Accessing JSTOR

Use these instructions to learn how to set up your account with JSTOR and how to search the JSTOR resources. 

   

What is Peer-Reviewed?

Watch this video to learn how to identify a peer-reviewed resource.

Evaluation Criteria Tutorials

Watch these instructional videos to learn more about how to determine the reliability of a resource.

Change the Language Search Settings

Use these instructions for the different databases to search for sources in other languages besides English.  Change the language search settings and then add your search terms to see what resources are available in other languages.