Public Relations

Not sure where to begin?

We recognize that many students will begin their search by performing an internet search for their topic.  So, let's learn how to determine if the information you find on the web is appropriate to use in your research.   

Let this be a beginning step in your research, not the only step.

Is the resource you've found on the web a good resource?  How can we tell?

• Use the SIFT method to determine the credibility of information found on the web.
  • Stop - do not engage with the text until you get enough context about the text to determine if it is worth engaging with.
  • Investigate the source -
    • who is the author? 
    • what is the purpose of the source?
    • is it possibly written with a bias?
    • has it been reviewed and approved by experts in the field of study?
  • Find better coverage - find other resources about the topic from reliable sources.
  • Trace claims, quotes and media to the original context - backward searching.

Why might an Internet search be a good place to start? Discovery 

• Learn the basics about your topic
• Use what you have learned to inform your research.
• Create a list of keywords related to your topic.
• Develop your keywords in relation to what you want to learn about your topic.
• Use the library's databases to provide direct access to academic, peer-reviewed materials.

You're probably already familiar with Wikipedia, a free online encyclopedia.  The reference sources listed on this page are similar to Wikipedia, with some differences that you should be aware of, including:

• Reference sources are generally part of the fee-based web, which means they require a subscription to access the content, making the information in them very valuable.  The fee-based sources listed here are paid for by your institution.
  • Wikipedia is part of the free web, so anyone with an Internet connection can access it seamlessly.
• Reference sources are written collectively by experts in the fields they cover - some are researchers, some are professors, but all have qualifications of a professional nature.
  • "Wikipedia is written collaboratively by volunteers from all around the world.  Anyone with Internet access can make changes to Wikipedia articles."  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:About
• Reference sources are sometimes general in nature, but often cover one subject area in-depth, so you can choose a source that focuses on the discipline you're researching more extensively.
  • Wikipedia contains encyclopedia-like articles on almost anything, making it a general or multidisciplinary source of information.
• Reference sources are edited and vetted for accuracy, currency, and authority by the source's editorial board (often a group of researchers in the field).  
  • Wikipedia has a set of editing policies and guidelines that authors should follow when writing or editing articles.

Wikipedia can be a good source, to begin with.  However, you should balance what you find there with information from other reference sources as well.  And make sure you evaluate the information you find from Wikipedia or any other source.

If you have questions about the kind of information you find, please Ask Us. Library staff are happy to help you find quality information on any topic you're researching.

Courtesy of the MIT Libraries

Understanding your research topic is your first challenge. Here are some tips:

• Narrow your topic to something manageable.
  • If your topic is too broad, you will find too much information and not be able to focus.
  • Background reading can help you choose and limit the scope of your topic. 
• Review the guidelines for your assignment.  Be sure to stay on track while you are researching.
• Refer to lecture notes and required texts to refresh your knowledge of the course and assignment.
• Talk about research ideas with a friend.  S/he may be able to help focus your topic by discussing issues that didn't occur to you at first.
• Think of the who, what, when, where, and why questions:
  • WHY is this topic important?  Why is this topic still pertinent to society?
  • WHO are the information providers on this topic?  Who might publish information about it?  Who is affected by the topic?  Do you know of organizations or institutions affiliated with the topic?
  • WHAT are the major questions for this topic?  Is there a debate about the topic?  Is there a range of issues and viewpoints to consider?
  • WHERE is your topic important: at the local, national, or international level?  Are there specific places affected by the topic?
  • WHEN is/was your topic important?  Is it a current event or a historical issue?  Do you want to compare your topic by time period?

Not finding enough information?  Think of related ideas, or read some background information first.  You may not be finding enough information for several reasons, including:

• Your topic is too specific.  Generalize what you are looking for. For example: if your topic is genetic diversity for a specific ethnic group in Ghana, Africa, broaden your topic by generalizing to all ethnic groups in Ghana or in West Africa.
• Your topic is too new for anything substantive to have been written.  If you're researching a recently breaking news event, you are likely to only find information about it in the news media. Be sure to search databases that contain articles from newspapers. If you are not finding enough in the news media, consider changing your topic to one that has been covered more extensively.
• You have not checked enough databases for information.  Use our A-Z database listing to find other databases in your subject area which might cover the topic from a different perspective. Also, use excellent-searching techniques to ensure you are getting the most out of every database.
• You are using less common words or too much jargon to describe your topic.  Use a thesaurus to find other terms to represent your topic. When reading background information, note how your topic is expressed in these materials. When you find citations in an article database, see how the topic is expressed by experts in the field.

Once you have a solid topic, formulate your research question or hypothesis, and begin finding information.

If you need guidance with topic formulation, Ask Us!  Library staff are happy to help you focus your ideas.

Courtesy of the MIT Libraries

Too much information?  Make your results list more manageable.  Less, but more relevant, information is key.  Here are some options to consider when narrowing the scope of your paper:

• Theoretical approach:  Limit your topic to a particular approach to the issue.  For example, if your topic concerns cloning, examine the theories surrounding the high rate of failures in animal cloning.
• Aspect or sub-area:  Consider only one piece of the subject.  For example, if your topic is human cloning, investigate government regulation of cloning.
• Time:  Limit the time span you examine.  For example, on a topic in genetics, contrast public attitudes in the 1950s versus the 1990s.
• Population group:  Limit by age, sex, race, occupation, species, or ethnic group.  For example, on a topic in genetics, examine specific traits as they affect women over 40 years of age.
• Geographical location:  A geographic analysis can provide a useful means to examine an issue.   For example, if your topic concerns cloning, investigate cloning practices in Europe or the Middle East.