Database Access - Username/Password
To use the Library's databases and e-book collections, you will be asked to enter a username and password. This username and password is now your personal username and password information, the same username and password that you enter to login to Moodle, Portico, and your Lee email.
When you attempt to access the library's databases, you will see the screen below. As a Lee student, choose the first box.
You will then be taken to a login screen where you will enter in your own personal username and password. The screen for Lee students will look like this...
If at any time you encounter the following ACA login, please contact the library for assistance.
Please contact the Reference desk during library hours at (423) 614-8562 if you have any questions or you may email us anytime at library@leeuniversity.edu.
EBSCO Discovery Service Advanced Search
You can also search the library's other databases for information about your topic.
Search EBSCO Discovery Service for Examples of Argumentative Essays
Search Strategy
If you want to search EBSCO Discovery Service for examples of argumentative essays, try this search strategy.
Go to the library's Ebsco Discovery Service Database. Choose Advanced Search.
When accessing the library's databases, you may be asked to enter your username and password. This information is the same as the credentials you use to login to Moodle, Portico, and your Lee email. Please contact the library if you have any trouble logging in to any of the library's databases.
From the Ebsco Discovery Service, you can search through a large majority of the library's database. Follow the directions below to find examples of argumentative essays.
- Enter your broad topic into the first search box. Examples include abortion, global warming, gun control, capital punishment, and immigration.
- Note: If your first search doesn't have many results or you don't find what you are looking for, explore different words to represent your topic. For example, in place of "global warming," you might try the term "climate change."
- From the drop-down menu choose "Subject Terms."
- In the second search box, type in the word "Editorial." This will help to limit your results to argumentative essays.
- Leave the second dropdown menu as "Select a Field" as this will allow EBSCO to look through the entire article for the term editorial.
- Click search.
