Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources for Seminary Students

Search the Library's Resources

Click on the photo above to access the library's homepage!  From the library's homepage you can search through the library's resources!

Contacting Squires Library

Contacting the Library

Squires Library is here to aid you in your academic endeavors and we are available to answer your questions, whether it be teaching you how to find research materials or to help guide you through a specific assignment. Squires Library personnel collaborate with Karen Holley, the Coordinator of Theological Collection, about library resources and services for PTS students and faculty. Julie Burchfield serves as the Distance Learning librarian.  Seminary students are encouraged to contact the library to ask for help. The number for the Reference Desk is 423-614-8562. You can contact the library during any of our regular operating hours or questions concerning the library can be emailed to library@leeuniversity.edu.

If you plan to be in the Cleveland area, it would be beneficial for you to arrange for a library orientation session while you are here. It is best to contact the library prior to your visit in order to arrange a meeting with a librarian.  During your visit, a librarian can be available for individual or group training concerning how to use the various resources provided by Squires Library. 

Hours

Library Resources

Academic Resources

Although it is possible to find some resources by using an Internet search engine, Squires Library provides easy access to a large collection of Academic resources, the use of which will be smiled upon by your professors.  Squires Library provides several different ways to access these library resources and library personnel are available to assist with your research needs.  We encourage you as a distance student to take advantage of these valuable resources made available to you in order to make your academic endeavors a great success.  

Your research should begin on the library's homepage from which students can search through the different available resources.  These resources include access to the library’s large collection of books, e-books, as well as many databases that provide indexing and (in many cases) full text of scholarly articles. To access many of the resources available to you as a seminary student enrolled in courses, you will be required to sign in using your specific username and password, the same information you use to login to Populi.  If you need assistance getting started in your research, the library provides a series of instructional videos.

If you plan to be in the Cleveland area, it would be beneficial for you to arrange for a library orientation session while you are here. It is best to contact the library prior to your visit in order to arrange a meeting with a librarian.  During your visit, a librarian can be available for individual or group training concerning how to use the various resources provided by Squires Library.   

Acquiring Library Resources

Acquiring Library Materials

Books: Seminary students can request books in the library collection to be sent to them for research. The library will pay for the sending of books by USPS library mail, while the student assumes the cost of returning the materials. The check-out period is 28 days which includes the time required for shipping the items. If the books are needed for a longer period of time, the student can request one 14-day extension of the due date. The cost of any lost items or overdue items will be charged to the student and no additional materials may be borrowed until the charges have been paid. Check-out is limited to no more than 10 books at a time.  We are unable to ship books to students who live outside the contiguous United States. 

Click here to request an entire book.

Chapter Scans: Seminary students can request scans of portions of books that we have in our physical book collection.  The request can only be for a small portion of the work, not the work in its entirety.  This institution reserves the right to refuse a copying order if, in its judgement, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law. Copyright Declaration: The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyright material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research". If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use", that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

Click here to request a scan.

Articles: Seminary students can request to have specific journal articles emailed or faxed to them via our Interlibrary Loan Service. Interlibrary loan is a cooperative arrangement by which one library borrows materials from another for the use of its patrons. Squires Library will locate articles in other libraries and obtain them for Seminary students. These articles will be sent electronically through email.

Alternately, Seminary students might be able to borrow materials through their local public or college library. The rules and fees vary from one library to another so Seminary students are encouraged to ask about this service at a library convenient to where they live.

Click here to request materials via Interlibrary Loan.

EBSCO Discovery Service Advanced Search

Access the Library's EBSCO Discovery Services to begin your search for resources! 

The EBSCO Discovery Service allows students to search through almost all of the library's databases and eBook collections from the following search screen.  Click the image below to begin your search. 

Search the Library

Search the Library

Services and Accommodations

Squires Library provides accommodations related to its services and delivery of services and resources to students and faculty who qualify for reasonable academic accommodations based on a disability. Documentation of disability is required for most accommodations, and, where applicable, the library seeks guidance from PTS or Lee to set up an accommodation plan.