Skip to Main Content

Library Resources for Seminary Students

Library Resources for the Seminary

The library's resources can be accessed at https://leeuniversity.libguides.com/homepage 

The library has many resources that are available to you as a student of PTS.  This box includes several tabs; each tab reviews the basics of how to use the following resources. 

Below is a list of most helpful databases by resource type:

  • Books - Squires Library's Online Catalog
  • eBooks - Squires Library's Online Catalog, Deo Publishing, and EBSCO Discovery Service, JSTOR
  • Academic Journal Articles - ATLA, EBSCO Discovery Service, PSYCArticles, JSTOR
  • Historical Resources about Pentecostalism - The Consortium of Pentecostal Archives
  • Open Access Resources, including books, journals, commentaries, and websites - Open Access Digital Theological Library and William G. Squires Virtual Library

DATABASES:

  • Squires Library's Online Catalog - This is the library's online catalog and using this will allow you to search through the library's print collection and the library's electronic book collection.  
  • ATLA Religion Database - Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials provides coverage dating back to 1908 with indexing for some journal titles extending back into the 19th century. Full-text journal articles and reviews are selected for inclusion by leading religion scholars. -- Ebsco
  • The Consortium of Pentecostal Archives - A collaborative effort initiated by repositories of Pentecostal archival materials to make their materials accessible online. -- CPA
  • Deo Publishing, Religion and Theology Special E-book Collection​ - A small collection of electronic books from Deo Publishing.  Includes works from a Pentecostal viewpoint and contains books from such authors as Steven J. Land, Rickie D Moore, and John Christopher Thomas.
  • eBook Academic Collection - a growing collection of electronic books, including commentaries and criticisms.  
  • Discovery Service - If you aren't sure where to begin your search, you can start here.  The Discovery Service will allow you to search a wide variety of the library's databases, all at once.  Just note that your results will be varied through the lens of several different disciplines and all may not apply to your research topic.  
  • JSTOR - Provides access to a large collection of scholarly eBooks, academic journal articles, and primary resources.  
  • Open Access Digital Theological Library - The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections. The OADTL uses the world’s most advanced integrated library system (ILS) for cataloging and discovery. This system, OCLC’s WorldShare, makes content easily discoverable and retrievable. The OADTL is staffed by professional librarians and curates content without regard for theological or confessional perspectives. -- OADTL
  • PSYCArticles - Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with PsycARTICLES, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals. -- EBSCO
  • William G. Squires Virtual Library - This virtual library was created by Seth Allen and the Association of Christian Librarians. The Virtual Library exists to help users find open access theological resources including books, commentaries, open access journals, and websites.

Please note that you will use your PTS username and password to access the library's databases; the same information you use to access Populi.  Please contact the library should you have any questions or difficulties logging in.  

 

The ATLA Religion database is the premiere religion database offered through Squires Library and offers several valuable tools that will enhance your research process.  See the list below to view each tool individually or scroll through the list of instructions to view all.

ADVANCED SEARCH

Use the multiple search boxes in the ATLA Religion Database to create a search strategy and search for multiple terms that describe your search topic. Watch the instructional video below to see how to complete an Advanced Search.

INDEXES

Using the Indexes tool in ATLA will help you easily identify sources that are about a specific topic.  The ATLA Index works much like an index in a book, find your topic and then see where information about that topic is located.  For our purposes, using the Index tool to search by subject will be most beneficial.  Watch the instructional video below to see how this tool in action.

THESAURUS

Another helpful tool in ATLA is the thesaurus.  Using the Thesaurus tool in ATLA will help you identify other subject terms that are related to your search topic.  This tool is similar to the ATLA Index tool but is different in that it will help you broaden your search outside of your original keyword search.  Watch the instructional video below to see how this tool in action.  

SCRIPTURES

Using the Scriptures tool in ATLA will help you easily identify sources that are about a specific Biblical text.  This tool allows you to search for resources that are about a specific book in the Bible, a certain chapter in a book in the Bible, or even a key verse in the Bible.  You can also limit these resources by entering additional search terms into your scripture search. Watch the instructional video below to see how this tool in action.

The Consortium of Pentecostal Archives database will provide you with digital access to global Pentecostal resources, including archived copies of the Church of God Evangel and of the Church of God General Assembly Minutes.  Watch the short instructional video below to learn more about searching this collection.

  

This small, specially tailored collection deals specifically with religion and philosophy from a Pentecostal theological perspective.  When you click on the link above, you will be taken to Brill’s website where you see the list of books belonging to this eBook collection listed under Contents. 

undefined