Reference Resources
The encyclopedia is the place where a researcher comes to access a broad overview and general description of a particular subject (Cassell 73). The original intent of the encyclopedia was to provide a concise and easy to understand overview of "all areas of cumulative human activity" (Cassell 73). With the advent of the internet, the impracticality of print encyclopedias has led to a plethora of online reference resources and subject specific encyclopedias that carry on the torch of providing "succinct, user-friendly information" but in a digital format that allows the encyclopedia to continue to provide "the authority of the past even as they capture the immediacy of ongoing current events" (Cassell 73).
The encyclopedias listed below are considered specialized subject encyclopedias (Cassell 87). They focus on a particular subject area, such as corrections, criminal justice ethics, or street crime, and provide insight through the lens of that particularly field of study. These works supply "relatively in-depth information on a highly specific topic" (Cassell 87).
Encyclopedias are arranged alphabetically by subject term so knowing what topic you are searching for aids in the usefulness of this resource.
Cassell, Kay Ann, and Uma Hiremath. Reference and Information Services. American Library Association, 2013.
Encyclopedia of Community Corrections by ISBN: 9781412990837Publication Date: 2012-05-01"Accessible and jargon-free... the one-volume Encyclopedia of Community Corrections will explore all aspects of community corrections, from its philosophical foundation to its current inception. Features & Benefits:150 signed entries (each with Cross References and Further Readings) are organized in A-to-Z fashion to give students easy access to the full range of topics in community corrections. A thematic Reader's Guide in the front matter groups entries by broad topical or thematic areas to make it easy for users to find related entries at a glance." -- Provided by publisher.
Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics by ISBN: 9781452274119Publication Date: 2014-08-06"The Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics includes A to Z entries by experts in the field that explore the scope of ethical decision making and behaviors within the spheres of criminal justice systems, including policing, corrections, courts, forensic science, and policy analysis and research." -- Provided by publisher.
Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America by ISBN: 9781412999571Publication Date: 2013-03-28"This encyclopedic reference focuses primarily on urban lifestyle and its associated crimes, ranging from burglary to drug peddling to murder to new, more sophisticated forms of street crime and scams. This traditional A-to-Z reference has significant coverage of police and courts and other criminal justice sub-disciplines while also featuring thematic articles on the sociology of street crime." -- Provided by publisher.
Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention by ISBN: 9781412960472Publication Date: 2010-02-02"The Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention brings together in one authoritative resource the dispersed information and knowledge on both victimology and crime prevention. With nearly 375 entries, this two-volume set moves victimology and crime prevention one step further into recognized scholarly fields whose research informs practice and whose practice informs research." -- Provided by publisher.
World of Criminal Justice, Gale by ISBN: 9781849720885Publication Date: 2004-05-10"Welcome to the World of Criminal Justice. The individual entries in this ready-reference source explain in concise, detailed, and jargon-free language some of the most important topics, theories, discoveries, concepts, and organizations in criminal justice. Brief biographical profiles of the people who have made a significant and lasting impact on the field of criminal justice and society in general are also included. More than 320 photographs, statistical charts, and graphs aid the reader in understanding the topics and people covered in the reference work." -- Provided by publisher.
Dictionaries serve one primary purpose, to provide the meaning of words (Cassell 121). They also provide users with each word's "usage, pronunciation, grammatical provenance, and syllabication" (Cassell 121). While a general dictionary is able to provide broad definitions of words, a subject or discipline specific dictionary is able to convey a word's meaning within a specialized area of interest (Cassell 132). This specificity is important in understanding the nuances of any concentrated field of study.
Dictionaries are arranged alphabetically by term so knowing what word you are searching for aids in the usefulness of this resource.
Cassell, Kay Ann, and Uma Hiremath. Reference and Information Services. American Library Association, 2013.
Dictionary of Forensic Psychology by ISBN: 9781849724654Publication Date: 2010-02-22"Over the past decade forensic psychology has grown rapidly as a subject, with an increasing number of forensic psychologists under training and working in demanding roles in prisons, secure training facilities, and high, medium and low security healthcare facilities as well as other parts of the criminal justice system. This Dictionary is part of a new series of Dictionaries covering key aspects of criminal justice and the criminal justice system, designed to meet the needs of both students and practitioners." -- Provided by publisher.
Dictionary of Policing by ISBN: 9781849724661Publication Date: 2009-09-17"Contemporary policing is developing rapidly and is becoming increasingly professionalized. For practitioners National Occupational Standards, Skills for Justice and the new PDLP (Police Development and Leaning Programme) have brought a new emphasis on skills, standards and knowledge. Training for police officers and civilian staff working in policing is being significantly upgraded. At the same time it has become more rigorous, with universities and other higher educational institutions playing an increasingly important part in police training - as well as expanding the range of policing courses for undergraduate and postgraduate students. This Dictionary is the first of a new series of Dictionaries covering key aspects of criminal justice and the criminal justice system and designed to meet the needs of both students and practitioners." -- Provided by publisher.
Dictionary of Prisons and Punishment by ISBN: 9781849724678Publication Date: 2009-09-17"Contemporary prison practice faces many challenges, is developing rapidly and is become increasingly professionalized, influenced by the new National Offender Management Service. As well as bringing an increased emphasis on skills and qualifications it has also introduced a new set of ideas and concepts into the established prisons and penal lexicon. At the same time courses on prisons and penology remain important components of criminology and criminal justice degree courses. This will be the essential source of reference for the increasing number of people studying in, working in prisons and working with prisoners. This Dictionary is part a new series of Dictionaries covering key aspects of criminal justice and the criminal justice system and designed to meet the needs of both students and practitioners." -- Provided by publisher.
Dictionary of Probation and Offender Management by ISBN: 9781849724630Publication Date: 2009-09-17"Contemporary probation practice is developing rapidly and is become increasingly professionalized. Probation officers are typically described now as offender managers, and the creation of NOMS (National Offender Management Service) has broadened the remit of the Probation Service. As well as bringing an increased emphasis on skills and qualifications it has also introduced a new set of ideas and concepts into the established probation lexicon - including institutional, legal, political and theoretical terms of its own as well as importing concepts from the disciplines of sociology, criminology and psychology. This Dictionary is the essential reference book." -- From the Publisher
Dictionary of Youth Justice by ISBN: 9781849724647Publication Date: 2009-09-10"This Dictionary explicitly addresses the historical, legal, theoretical, organisational, policy, practice, research and evidential contexts within which 'modern' youth justice in the UK and beyond is located. The entries cover a spectrum of theoretical orientations and conceptual perspectives and engage explicitly with the key statutory provisions and policy and practice imperatives within each of the three UK jurisdictions." -- Provided by publisher.
Handbooks are reference books that focus on a concentrated field of study (Lamb). Unlike encyclopedias and dictionaries that are arranged alphabetically, handbooks are typically arranged by subject which makes browsing them more informative and researcher friendly (Lamb).
Lamb, Annette. "Reference Sources." Advanced Information Sources Cluster, 2017, http://eduscapes.com/cluster/4.htm. Accessed 12 Jun 2018.
The Cambridge Handbook of Forensic Psychology by ISBN: 9780521878098Publication Date: 2010-04-29"This Handbook provides an encyclopedic-style source regarding the major concerns in forensic psychology. It is an invaluable reference text for practitioners within community, special hospital, secure unit, prison, probation and law enforcement forensic settings, as well as being appropriate for trainees and students in these areas. It will also serve as a companion text for lawyers and psychiatric and law enforcement professionals who wish to be apprised of forensic psychology coverage. Each entry provides a succinct outline of the topic, describes current thinking, identifies relevant consensual or contested aspects and alternative positions. Readers are presented with key issues and directed towards specialized sources for further reference." -- Provided by Publisher.
Criminal Justice Handbook on Masculinity, Male Aggression, and Sexuality by ISBN: 9780398081461Publication Date: 2015-03-11"Criminal Justice Handbook on Masculinity, Male Aggression, and Sexuality discusses masculinity as a social construct, an ideal, and an impediment for males and females. The book explores how the law equalizes, protects, bridles, and enforces masculinity while dealing with crime, which often exploits and exaggerates masculinity. Among the topics addressed are historical and contemporary law, scientific understandings, issues in corrections, military service, the court system, policing, criminal procedure, medicine, and treatment." -- Provided by publisher.
Handbook of Correctional Mental Health by ISBN: 9781585623891Publication Date: 2009-10-06"This book addresses key concepts to ensure that the reader meets the current standard of care for inmates through all phases of the criminal justice system. In 20 state-of-the-art chapters, nationally recognized providers and correctional mental health experts address the most pressing issues facing clinicians." -- Provided by Publisher.
Handbook of Transnational Crime and Justice by ISBN: 9781452240343Publication Date: 2013-05-22"In the Handbook of Transnational Crime and Justice, Philip Reichel and Jay Albanese bring together top scholars from around the world to offer perspectives on the laws, crimes, and criminal justice responses to transnational crime. This concise, reader-friendly handbook is organized logically around four major themes: the problem of transnational crime; analysis of specific transnational crimes; approaches to its control; and regional geographical analyses. Each comprehensive chapter is designed to be explored as a stand-alone topic, making this handbook an important textbook and reference tool for students and practitioners alike." -- Provided by publisher.
Handbook on Effective Prosecution Responses to Violence Against Women and Girls by ISBN: 9789211303315Publication Date: 2015-02-27"Drawing upon the updated Model Strategies and Practical Measures on the Elimination of Violence against Women in the Field of Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice (General Assembly resolution 65/228, annex), UNODC and UN Women have drafted the Handbook on Effective Prosecution Responses to Violence against Women and Girls." -- Provided by Publisher.
Handbook on Police Accountability, Oversight and Integrity by ISBN: 9789211303070Publication Date: 2011-11-10"The present Handbook describes an integrated approach to installing an effective police accountability system, including both preventive and corrective measures, and explains the role and functions of the different actors in this system. The Handbook is one of the practical tools developed by the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime to support countries in the implementation of the rule of law and the development of criminal justice reform. It aims to assist countries in their efforts to develop effective systems of oversight and accountability within their law enforcement authorities and enhance police integrity. The issues addressed include enhancement of police integrity and the integrity of policing, dealing with complaints about policing (receipt, investigation and Follow-up), setting policing priorities and encouraging policy input, and inviting external review, including from independent actors." -- Provided by Publisher.
Handbook on the Crime Prevention Guidelines by ISBN: 9789211303001Publication Date: 2010-11-30"The Handbook offers a concise overview of the main considerations to be taken into account in planning and implementing crime prevention strategies and interventions. It also recognizes that there are some major differences between regions and countries in terms of the challenges posed by crime and victimization and the importance of adapting programs to local contexts. The main emphasis is on how crime prevention strategies based on the guidelines developed by the United Nations can be entrenched and sustained over time. It includes information on the kinds of methods and tools that can be utilized and are becoming increasingly available." -- Provided by Publisher.
Many helpful resources can be found in our databases which are reference specific. The following three databases "contain background and general information about topics through providing access to a wide range of reference books and other electronic materials" (Lamb). Browse your topic in the following databases to see what other useful resources are available to you for your research and study.
Lamb, Annette. "Reference Sources." Advanced Information Sources Cluster, 2017, http://eduscapes.com/cluster/4.htm. Accessed 12 Jun 2018.
Gale Virtual Reference Library"Gale Virtual Reference Library is your single source for eReference aimed at the needs of students, researchers, professionals and general readers. Now you can offer more than 7,000 authoritative, full-text titles—from Gale and a host of premier publishing partners—within 18 subject areas researchers study most"--Description provided by Gale Cengage.
Oxford Reference Online"Answers with Authority: Bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas"--Description provided by Oxford.
