Topic Guide - Biblical Studies

The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.

Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials provides coverage dating back to 1908 with indexing for some journal titles extending back into the 19th century. Full-text journal articles and reviews are selected for inclusion by leading religion scholars. -- Ebsco

Also searchable in Discovery Service.

The Consortium of Pentecostal Archives (CPA) is a collaborative effort initiated by repositories of Pentecostal archival materials to make their materials accessible online. -- CPA

Deo Publishing, Religion and Theology Special E-Book Collection, 1999-2017 Deo Publishing, Religion and Theology Special E-Book Collection, 1999-2017 , is the electronic version of the book publication program of Deo Publishing in 2007-2010. -- Brill

The Vatican Apostolic Library, better known simply as “VAT,” was officially established in 1475, although it is actually much older.
It was in 1451 when Pope Nicholas V, a renowned bibliophile himself, attempted to re-establish Rome as an academic center of global importance, building a relatively modest library of over 1,200 volumes, including his personal collection of Greek and Roman classics and a series of texts brought from Constantinople.

Brill’s Encyclopedia of Global Pentecostalism Online (BEGP) provides a comprehensive overview of worldwide Pentecostalism from a range of disciplinary perspectives. It offers analysis at the level of specific countries and regions, historical figures, movements and organizations, and particular topics and themes. Pentecostal Studies draws upon areas of research such as anthropology, biblical studies, economics, gender studies, global studies, history, political science, sociology, theological studies, and other areas of related interest. The BEGP emphasizes this multi-disciplinary approach and includes scholarship from a range of disciplines, methods, and theoretical perspectives. Moreover, the BEGP is cross-cultural and transnational, including contributors from around the world to represent key insights on Pentecostalism from a range of countries and regions. -- Brill

The new IxTheo is a comprehensive bibliography for theology and religious studies. Users can now search for articles, monographs, databases, and relevant Internet links.

The Index Canonicus is a comprehensive, international database and bibliography for canon law, Protestant and Orthodox canon law and state church law. It is based on the merger of the two canon law databases KALDI (Innsbruck) and DaKaR (Münster) with the canon law holdings of the Index Theologicus (Tübingen).

“Online” is an international open-access, peer-reviewed academic journal published by the Institute of Religious Studies (Link) at the University of Heidelberg (Germany) (Link). The journal is committed to promoting and (theoretically and methodically) advancing scientific research at the interface between religion and the internet. -- University of Heidelberg

The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections. The OADTL uses the world’s most advanced integrated library system (ILS) for cataloging and discovery. This system, OCLC’s WorldShare, makes content easily discoverable and retrievable. The OADTL is staffed by professional librarians and curates content without regard for theological or confessional perspective. It is hoped that the increased access to high-quality religious studies content will serve scholars and students of religion.

Covers religion and the related areas of philosophy and anthropology. Researchers can use this database not only to study theological approaches to social issues, but also to learn about the impact that religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. -- Gale Cengage

Welcome to the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP). From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. -- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

This virtual library was created by Seth Allen and the Association of Christian Librarians. The Virtual Library exists to help users find open access theological resources including books, commentaries, open access journals and websites.