Theological Concepts
- BaptismA ceremonial immersion in water, or application of water, as an initiatory rite or sacrament of the Christian church. -- Macquarie Dictionary
- Baptism in the Holy SpiritA spiritual baptism by a gift of the Holy Spirit — often used in allusion to Acts 2:3–4. -- Merriam-Webster's Collegiate(R) Dictionary
- ChurchCommunity of believers. -- Philip's Encyclopedia
- ConversionThough the actual word is rare in the Bible, the term describes the common experience by which a person turns to Christ in repentance and faith (Acts 20:21). -- Macmillan Dictionary of the Bible
- Foot WashingIn the 13th chapter of the Gospel of John, Jesus washes the feet of the disciples at the Last Supper, usually the task of a servant. -- Encyclopedia of World Religions: Encyclopedia of Protestantism
- ForgivenessThe act of pardoning or setting aside punishment and resentment for an offense. -- Essential Bible Dictionary
- Fruit of the SpiritA term used to describe Christian character produced by the Holy Spirit (Galatians 5:22-3). -- Macmillan Dictionary of the Bible
- Gifts of the SpiritSpecific abilities that the Holy Spirit grants to believers for the benefit of the church as a whole. -- Essential Bible Dictionary
- GlossolaliaEcstatic utterance used as part of worship by some religious groups. -- The Macquarie Dictionary
- Healing in the BibleA form of healing in which solely spiritual means, such as prayer to a divine being or the laying of hands on the sick person, are used to treat an illness. -- Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained
- HeavenAlthough sometimes this word means simply “sky,” more often it refers to the abode of God and of the good angels, the place where the redeemed will someday be. -- Essential Bible Dictionary
- HellAbode of evil spirits, and the place or state of eternal punishment after death for the wicked. -- Philip's Encyclopedia
- HolinessThe state or character of being holy; sanctity. -- The Macquarie Dictionary
- Jesus ChristThe central figure of the Christian faith, believed to be both human and divine, and to have been raised from the dead. -- Chambers Biographical Dictionary
- JustificationTheology the act of God whereby humanity is made just, or free from the guilt of sin. -- The Macquarie Dictionary
- Law (Theology) -- Biblical teaching.Theology is the systematic reflection on religious beliefs. -- The New Encyclopedia of Judaism
- Lord Supper or EucharistThe Christian sacrament in which Christ's Last Supper is commemorated by the consecration of bread and wine. -- Collins English Dictionary
- MiraclesAn event that is contrary to the established laws of nature and attributed to a supernatural cause. -- Collins English Dictionary
- PrayerA spiritual response to God that involves addressing and petitioning him but also contemplating and waiting for him. -- Essential Bible Dictionary
- Regeneration TheologyTheology spiritual rebirth. -- The Macquarie Dictionary
- RepentanceThe act or process of changing one's mind and turning the course of one's life, especially toward God. -- Essential Bible Dictionary
- RighteousnessCharacterised by uprightness or morality. -- The Macquarie Dictionary
- SalvationDeliverance from the power and effects of sin. -- Merriam-Webster's Collegiate(R) Dictionary
- SantificationTo free from sin: purify. -- Merriam-Webster's Collegiate(R) Dictionary
- SinTransgression of the will of God or the gods, as revealed in the moral code laid down by a particular religion. -- The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather Guide
- TemptationThe act of tempting or the state of being tempted. -- Collins English Dictionary
- WorshipAdoration and service of God. -- The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather Guide
Lee University School of Religion
Welcome to the School of Religion at Lee University!
The School of Religion has two departments to help you fulfill your purpose: the Department of Christian Ministries and the Department of Theology. More information, including degree checklists for each major, can be found on the School of Religion webpage.
RISE UP TO YOUR CALLING
You've heard the call... to a fuller understanding of the Scriptures, to a deeper spiritual and intellectual growth, and to a theological exploration that will equip you for ministry, missions, or other service. Lee University stands ready to help you answer that call through a comprehensive theological, biblical, and liberal arts education.
Professors share a depth of experience in scholarship and ministry, as well as a commitment to the individual growth and achievement of each student. Their deeply rooted faith and high academic standards will ensure that you receive an incomparable educational experience.