Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Topic Guide - Biblical Studies

This guide lists starting points for locating resources pertaining to Biblical studies.

Sites Offering Multiple Bible Study Resources

Databases and Indexes

To access other religious studies databases not listed below, see the Library's Religious Studies databases (scroll down).

Academic Search Complete (ASC) 
This multidisciplinary database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8, 200 journals. It provides full text for more than 4,500 publications, including peer-reviewed journals with many dating back to 1975. Also included is the full text of Pneuma: The Journal of the Society for Pentecostal Studies (coverage: 2002-present).

ATLA
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the premier scholarly tool for researching theological perspectives on history, the humanities and the social sciences, as well as biblical studies, world religions and church history. Some full text.

Religion and Philosophy Database
Index to magazines and academic journals covering religion, philosophy and the related areas of archaeology and anthropology. Some full text.

New Testament Abstracts (print index)
Index to scholarly literature about New Testament-related topics. (print index - shelved behind reference desk)

Review of Biblical Literature
Founded by the Society of Biblical Literature, presents reviews of books in biblical studies and related fields. It includes reviews of reference works, commentaries, dictionaries, Bible translations, books for biblical study, and non-English books.

RTA: Religious & Theological Abstracts
Provides abstracts of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology. No full text.

Theological Journal Library
Provides full-text access to scholarly evangelical research, including journals from more than a dozen schools of theology and classic works on church history.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Ancient Greek literature from Homer (8th century B.C.) to 600 A.D. with historiographical, lexicographical and scholastic texts from the period between 600 & 1453 A.D.
CD-ROM - Media PA3051 .B472 1992 - on reserve at Circulation Desk
Print version - Ref. PA3051 .B37 1990

Search the Library

Search the Library